Alchemist Immolation bomb discovery


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

I have a few questions about the immolation bomb discovery that came up last night the first time I used them.

Immolation Bomb*: When the alchemist creates a bomb, he can choose to have its substance coat the direct target's body, causing the bomb to deal its damage over time instead of all at once. The bomb's effect lasts for a number of rounds equal to the number of damage dice the bomb would normally deal (for instance, a 5d6 bomb lasts for 5 rounds). When the bomb hits the direct target, the bomb deals 1d6 + the alchemist's Intelligence modifier in damage, and those within the splash zone take damage equal to 1 + the alchemist's Intelligence modifier. It repeats this damage against the direct target of the bomb each round the immolation bomb lasts, dealing the damage at the start of the alchemist's turn. Splash damage is dealt again to any creature that is adjacent to the direct target when it takes damage from the immolation bomb. A creature taking damage from an immolation bomb's direct hit can attempt to extinguish the flames as a full-round action that requires a Reflex save (DC = 10 + 1/2 the alchemist's level + the alchemist's Intelligent modifier). Because of the alchemical nature of this bomb, rolling on the ground does not grant a bonus on the saving throw, and dousing a creature with water does not stop it from burning. These bombs can be used underwater. An alchemist must be at least 3rd level before selecting this discovery.

This means that the bomb can be used underwater and that its a Damage Over Time (DOT) effect. Now what I want to know is, A) is a reflex save allowed for the splash from the dodge as it happens every round, and B)...You know what, I can't remember what B was right now but I'm sure it'll come to me in time.


I'm unaware of any instance a thrown splash weapon grants a reflex save to avoid splash damage (someone please tell me if there is, I miss things), I see no reason the splash damage each round would be treated any differently. So no, there is not a reflex save.

The Exchange

Since the original bomb grants a Reflex save for half splash, I would think the secondary splash would too.

PRD, Bomb class ability wrote:
Those caught in the splash damage can attempt a Reflex save for half damage.

And Strannik, the reflex save is something specific for Alchemist bombs. You are correct that most splash weapons do not allow one.

Edited for clarity.


Ah, thanks. Neither I nor any of my players have played as an alchemist yet, so I haven't had the motivation to read that too closely yet. Good to know.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alchemist Immolation bomb discovery All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions