Spell Storing Armor and Sneak Attack


Rules Questions


Say you have an Eldritch Rogue with a spell storing armor (shocking touch). An opponent flanked by you and an ally attacks you, triggers the stored spell which unleashes into the enemy.
Can you add your sneak attack dice to the damage?

Intuitively I would say no, because it isn't you guiding that spell to some specific weak point...but anyway.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

From the description of Spell Storing

"Anytime a creature hits the wearer with a melee attack or melee touch attack, the armor can cast the spell on that creature as an immediate action if the wearer desires."

The ARMOR casts the spell, not the wearer, so the wearer's sneak attack ability isn't applicable.


Yeah, that's what I figured. The fact that it doesn't require an attack roll is probably a good reason too.


Trish Megistos wrote:
Yeah, that's what I figured. The fact that it doesn't require an attack roll is probably a good reason too.

I always wondered about this. It doesn't specifically say it auto-succeeds at the touch attack, but that's how we've always played it. If not, what's a suit of armor's BAB?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

We've always played auto-hit as well, despite it not being explicit.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Storing Armor and Sneak Attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions