Healer Connection and Mythic Cure


Rules Questions


Under the Mystic Healer Connection, it says:

"Spells: 1st—6th mystic cure; replaced by 1st—lesser remove condition, 2nd—remove condition, 3rd—remove affliction, 4th—
restoration, 5th—greater remove condition"

Does that mean that a Mystic with the Healer connection CAN NOT take the Mystic Cure line of spells as Spells Known?

I am confused by the "replaced by" phraseology.

-- david


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

When you gain 1st level spells you get Mystic Cure as a 1st level spell known.
When you gain 2nd level spells you gain Mystic Cure as a 2nd level spell known. You replace your 1st level Mystic Cure with Lesser Remove Condition (and have this spell known now).
You can still cast Mystic Cure with both 1st and 2nd level spell slots, depending on how much healing someone needs.

This continues for the later levels.


Mimski wrote:

When you gain 1st level spells you get Mystic Cure as a 1st level spell known.

When you gain 2nd level spells you gain Mystic Cure as a 2nd level spell known. You replace your 1st level Mystic Cure with Lesser Remove Condition (and have this spell known now).
You can still cast Mystic Cure with both 1st and 2nd level spell slots, depending on how much healing someone needs.

This continues for the later levels.

Sorry, that is still somewhat confusing.

Ignoring 0th & 2nd level spells, so for 1st level spells only:
1st level - Know 2 spells; Command, Charm Person, Mystic Cure
4th level - Know 4 spells; Command, Charm Person, Fear, Keen Senses, Lesser Remove Condition

How do I cast 1st level spell Mystic Cure when I reach 4th level Mystic?

-- david

edit: Not trying to be difficult, but after 52 years of engineer / programmer education / training / work, I look at things usually quite literally.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

You have Mystic Cure as a 2nd level spell known now. Mystic Cure is a "Variable-Level Spell" (page 330 in the Starfinder Core Rulebook).
You can also cast at it any spell level below the one you have it known, which in this case means 2nd AND 1st.

When you get it as a higher level spell known (to cast the better version) you replace the lower level spell known with a different spells. This would also be the case if you kept taking Mystic Cure normally, but the Connection tells you which spells you get instead of the lower level Mystic Cure version.

(No problem! I head to read the passage about variable-level spells and connections a few times myself, until I "got" it.)


@Mimski - Wow, I had not read that portion of the Magic / Spells section. Trying to work up a character for a PbP and I only got the PDF late yesterday.

Thank you !!!

-- david

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Healer Connection and Mythic Cure All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions