Grapple changes


Rules Questions


I got the chance to look at the rules for grapple in the SF rules and I didn't see nearly as many options as there are in PF.

Pretty much the only thing you can do with a grapple in SF is try to remove an item from the grappled creature or pin them. Is this true or am I missing something?


Pretty much, you give the enemy either the Grappled or Pinned condition and when you maintain the grapple you can take one of their items, but that ends the grapple for some unknown reason.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 32

They simplified and streamlined the grappling rules.

You also, as the grapplee, do not gain the grappled condition like you do in PF.

You can place restraints or manacles on a pinned creature without needing to Tie Up like you did in PF. If you restraint all sets limbs on a creature I bet they're helpless and you can coup de grace.


theheadkase wrote:

They simplified and streamlined the grappling rules.

You also, as the grapplee, do not gain the grappled condition like you do in PF.

You can place restraints or manacles on a pinned creature without needing to Tie Up like you did in PF. If you restraint all sets limbs on a creature I bet they're helpless and you can coup de grace.

The main thing I'm missing is dealing damage during the grapple which was allowed in PF.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 32

Yeah I'm a little...miffed...about that as well. But as I'm reading it there's nothing stopping you from attacking on your next turn, the grappled condition doesn't end until the end of your next turn (unless you renew it by doing another grapple maneuver) so essentially its the same aside from now if you choose to do damage the grapple is over afterwards.


Pathfinder PF Special Edition, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Society Subscriber
sunderedhero wrote:
Pretty much, you give the enemy either the Grappled or Pinned condition and when you maintain the grapple you can take one of their items, but that ends the grapple for some unknown reason.

Actually, you can take an item "when you renew a grapple". And renewing a grapple is to "on your next turn [use] another combat maneuver to grapple". Oddly, it doesn't say "successfully renew a grapple". So RAW if you even attempt to renew the grapple you can take an item success or not. I'm fairly certain this isn't RAI, and would love to see it clarified.

Incidentally, this lack of the successful conditional also means you always maintain grapples when you try. As the same wording appears with the renewal text. Which I'm betting isn't RAI either.


I'm curious as to how combat maneuvers in general will work in-game, from my perspective it seems they're kind of difficult...


Yeah, KAC + 8 seems a bit much. If you're already being challenged to hit AC, it's a losers game. Even with the feat, you're still at a -4 vs the standard AC. The only way they could be useful is against some kind of spellcaster/psion with too much EAC and no KAC.


Goddity wrote:
Yeah, KAC + 8 seems a bit much. If you're already being challenged to hit AC, it's a losers game. Even with the feat, you're still at a -4 vs the standard AC. The only way they could be useful is against some kind of spellcaster/psion with too much EAC and no KAC.

looking at CR equivalent monsters ACs, this isn't the case. We were worried about this too, but most CR 1 monsters seem to have a defense of 12 or so, so 20 to resist maneuvers. a first lvl grappler prob has a +8 to grapple give or take, so not terrible.

But it does seem that a 50/50 isn't really something I'd want to invest a lot of resources in.

(and looking at CR equivalent monsters to hit values...they aint gonna miss often)

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Grapple changes All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions