WotR Kyra Demon / Undead ability


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Can I just confirm that Kyra's ability to recharge a spell for an attack-spell-like effect against demons and undead does not actually count as "playing a spell"? So for example against a cambion I don't need to make a check first to use the ability.

I'm asking mostly whether this is "as intended", since I'm on-board with the idea that according to RAW if nothing says it's playing a spell then it isn't playing a spell. It just seems most similar powers (e.g. the sorcerers) say they count as playing-a-thing.

I can see that the carry-on golem has its own errata that would block this ability regardless. Although of course you can't use the ability in the first place anyway, because it's clearly just a soulless animation of dead flesh, as (obviously) entirely distinct from being "undead".


Unless a character's power says it counts as playing a card, it isn't playing the card if you don't activate a power on the card.

MM Rulebook p8 wrote:

Doing something with a card that does not use a

power on that card does not count as playing that card.

(You'll find the same thing in the WotR Rulebook.)


The power in the RPG is also not a spell; it's the channel positive energy class ability.

The sorcerers' power, on the other hand, is based on their class feature that allows them to cast any spell provided they know it (otherwise known as spontaneous spellcasting, rather than prepared spellcasting)


zeroth_hour2 wrote:

The power in the RPG is also not a spell; it's the channel positive energy class ability.

The sorcerers' power, on the other hand, is based on their class feature that allows them to cast any spell provided they know it (otherwise known as spontaneous spellcasting, rather than prepared spellcasting)

Ok thanks, I suspected something like that might be the case but wouldn't even know where to look.

Now not just are the rules clear but I don't even feel guilty about it :)


The similarity to Seoni confused the non-RPG players amongst us at first. Vic saying it does not count as a spell . (Whether it counted as spell was never dependent on which card you recharged, though; Hawkmoon cites the clear rule on that.)


elcoderdude wrote:
Vic saying it does not count as a spell

Ugh talk about search-fail... I tried to find such a thread and just flat out didn't. Sorry. I think I've even read it too (but a long time ago and with a different interest).


Irgy wrote:
Although of course you can't use the ability in the first place anyway, because it's clearly just a soulless animation of dead flesh, as (obviously) entirely distinct from being "undead".

FWIW, you're not the first one to bring that up in the history of D&D-related fantasy roleplaying. :)

The difference (at least in the Pathfinder RPG) is the animating force. Golems are elemental in nature while undead are spiritual. WotR Kyra's ability to do damage to Undead and Demons are (as already mentioned) a simulation of channeling, specifically the Cleric class feature plus (likely) the Alignment Channel feat.

(Can you say too many links? I knew you could!)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / WotR Kyra Demon / Undead ability All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion