
Tyler Michael |
Page 10 of the rulebook states "Each player may activate any power no more than once during each step."
QUESTION 1:
Lem ability 1
You may recharge a card to add 1d4 (□+1) (□+2) to any check by a character at your location.
Lem ability 2
When you would recharge a card, you may shuffle it into your deck instead.
I know that Lem can only use his first ability once per check, but can he also immediately use ability #2 to shuffle the card instead of recharging?
QUESTION 2:
ALAHAZRA ability 1
You may recharge a card that has the Divine trait to examine the top card of any location deck (□ or the blessings deck or any character deck).
Does this mean she can use the ability multiple times in the same turn... for example during stept 1 when the blessing deck advances, during step 2 during the move, during step 3 during the explore etc?
Also, can she use the ability during other player's turns as well as long as it is no more than once each STEP?
QUESTION 3:
In summary, am I correct that character powers can be used during any players turn at any time as long as it is used no more than once per step?
Thanks very much for your time.

Longshot11 |

I'll give you quotes from the MM rulebook, as this is the last -and most up to date- rulebook. You should preferrebly use that, when you're not adressing set-specific rules (such as S&S ships and plunder). You can download the MM rulebook from this site for free.
Q1: YES ("You may use multiple different character powers during one check or step." - p.20)
Q2: YES, But wait, there's more! You can use Alahazra's power *multiple* times in any of these Steps! The rule you're quoting is probably the equivalent of MM's "A character may not activate a given power more than once during each step..." (p. 9). Do note - this is in the section Encountering a Card! - an encounter is the most restricted moment in PACG with regards of what and when you may play (so you probably won't even be able to play Alahazra's power during an encounter - because normally that wouldn't directly affect the encounter!). OUTSIDE of an encounter, however, there are pretty much no limitations, unless the power itself (or a scenario/location power) imposes them; Alahazra's "scouting" has no such limitation,, so even if at the start of your turn you recharge your whole hand of Divine cards to scout a bunch of locations - that's a valid play.
Q3: YES about using it at any moment (including other players' turns) unless there's a limitation; NO, about using them *only* once per Step, if by Step you mean the Steps of the turn, and not the steps of an Encounter (and, yes, the terminology here can be unfortunately confusing).

skizzerz |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

The full rulebook quotes are:
Page 8 (Playing Cards) "If a power says it may be used when something happens, you may use it every time that happens. Otherwise, a specific card’s power may only be used once per check or step."
Page 9 (Encountering a Card) "A character may not activate a given power more than once during each step, other than effects that can be used each time something particular happens."
Page 11 (Attempting a Check) "Each player may not play more than 1 card of each type or use any 1 power more than once during each check, other than powers that can be used each time something particular happens."
Question 1: Yes. You can normally use each individual power once per check, however ability 2 begins with the word "When" which means that you can use it every time that condition happens -- even multiple times per check. Ability 1 is still limited to once per check though.
Question 2: You cannot play cards or use powers during steps of a turn unless the step says you can (for example, you cannot play cards or use powers before advancing the blessings deck, or in between advancing the blessings deck and handling any effects that happen at the start of turn). However, you can play cards and use powers without limit between steps of a turn. Steps of a turn and steps of an encounter are completely different things; there is no "1 card of each type or each power only 1 time" limit on steps of a turn.
In other words, you can use Alahazra's ability as many times as you have cards with the Divine trait in your hand, including during other people's turns. (Cards Do What They Say and Cards Don't Do What They Don't Say -- if you were only supposed to use it on your turn, it would say that. As it doesn't limit it to your turn, you can use it on anyone's turn).
Question 3: See the text in parenthesis directly above this. And again, it is once per step of an encounter. Steps of a turn are completely different, and do not have that limitation. They do have a limitation that you cannot generally play cards or use powers at all during them, unless it says you can. Page 7: "Take your turn by going through the following steps in order. You can play cards and use powers without limit in between these steps, as long as they don’t say they can only be played at certain times."