Regarding saving throws against diseases...


Rules Questions


Hey all, sorry for what is probably a stupid question here, but me and my party who are relatively new to pathfinder are encountering some problems with diseases.

Now, I have done some checking, and I might be (probably) missing something obvious, but I haven't found the relevant info which is why I'm here.

See, one of my fellow adventurers believes that you can only roll a fortitude save against a disease if you are actually AWARE that you have the disease. While this makes some sense to me according to the general rules of combat in Pathfinder, and I think it would make diseases slightly more interesting, I disagree.

I think that you shouldn't have to be aware that you are infected to roll a save. I think that it is kind of stupid, because you don't have to actually TELL your body to resist a disease. You're immune system just does it automatically.

Thanks for any help.


Unless specifically noted otherwise you always get to roll saves. There's even an faq that says paralyzed or sleeping people get reflex saves...


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Saving Throw: When a creature is the subject of a dangerous spell or effect, it often receives a saving throw to mitigate the damage or result. Saving throws are passive, meaning that a character does not need to take an action to make a saving throw—they are made automatically. There are three types of saving throws: Fortitude (used to resist poisons, diseases, and other bodily ailments), Reflex (used to avoid effects that target an entire area, such as fireball), and Will (used to resist mental attacks and spells).


Alright, thanks for the quick responses!

This clears some stuff up so we can continue with our adventure.

Thanks

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Regarding saving throws against diseases... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.