
![]() |
Hello guys,
I have a few of new questions about immediate actions.
First, I do not aware of my opponents but by some reasons I am not flat-footed in the surprise round. Can I use an immediate action?
Second, I am a Divination/Forsight wizard. I can always act in the surprise round even if I fail to aware of my opponents. There are also rules mentioned that "Combatants who are unaware at the start of battle don't get to act in the surprise round". I am not an English native speaker. How do you define "act" in these sentences? Could I take one action (standard/move/immediate/...) like other people who aware of opponents normally? Or I could only take immediate actions?

Claxon |

Immediate Actions
Much like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very small amount of time but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—even if it's not your turn. Casting feather fall is an immediate action, since the spell can be cast at any time.
Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.
An immediate action can be used at any time, even in response to something someone else does, even if you haven't acted in combat, even if you are flat-footed, and even in a surprise round.
You can use them at any time.
Now, if you are not aware of any enemies, performing certain actions may or may not make sense. I think of the divination wizard's ability like Spidey Sense. He knows something is happening, but doesn't really know what. He can try to prepare himself (by doing something like casting a spell to protect himself) but other types of actions may or may not make sense to try to do.
In any even the divination wizard's ability allows him to always act in the surprise round, which means as normal he can gets the same move or standard action that is normally allowed in a surprise round. How they can use it, is up for debate since as I mentioned, if you are unaware of your opponent you probably shouldn't be able to take specific actions against them.

Curghann |
You cannot use Immediate Actions while you're flat-footed. Being able to act in a Surprise round (whether by making a Perception check or from a class ability) does not keep you from being flat-footed until your initiative order comes up in the Surprise round.
Basically, you cannot use Immediate Actions until after you have acted for the first time in a combat (general rule, an exception that kept you from being flat-footed would superceded this).

![]() |

Quote:An immediate action can be used at any time, even in response to something someone else does, even if you haven't acted in combat, even if you are flat-footed, and even in a surprise round.Immediate Actions
...You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.
You quoted the rule why you can't use an immediate action while flat-footed.
Forewarned (Su)
You can always act in the surprise round even if you fail to make a Perception roll to notice a foe, but you are still considered flat-footed until you take an action.
So, a diviner wizard cannot use an immediate action in the surprise round until their their initiative and they can act.

Claxon |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Claxon wrote:Quote:An immediate action can be used at any time, even in response to something someone else does, even if you haven't acted in combat, even if you are flat-footed, and even in a surprise round.Immediate Actions
...You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.
You quoted the rule why you can't use an immediate action while flat-footed.
Quote:So, a diviner wizard cannot use an immediate action in the surprise round until their their initiative and they can act.Forewarned (Su)
You can always act in the surprise round even if you fail to make a Perception roll to notice a foe, but you are still considered flat-footed until you take an action.
You know...my bad.