
DiscOH |
There are a number of Racial traits, Race Traits, and low level class abilities that grant a PC access to a natural attack. Many of these attacks are secondary, and generally awful. But then I read the rules on natural attacks:
"Most creatures possess one or more natural attacks (attacks made without a weapon). These attacks fall into one of two categories, primary and secondary attacks. Primary attacks are made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and add the creature’s full Strength bonus on damage rolls. Secondary attacks are made using the creature’s base attack bonus –5 and add only 1/2 the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls. If a creature has only one natural attack, it is always made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and adds 1-1/2 times the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls. This increase does not apply if the creature has multiple attacks but only takes one. If a creature has only one type of attack, but has multiple attacks per round, that attack is treated as a primary attack, regardless of its type."
So, from what I'm reading here, so long as a PC doesn't learn a second natural weapon type, they can reliably deal >=1 Str even if it's a secondary attack?
This feels wrong.

Quantum Steve |

It is wrong.
All PCs have access to some type of iterative attack, so they wouldn't qualify as having only one type of attack. If a PC picks up a secondary attack from a feat or a trait, it would be a secondary attck even if that's the only attack they make in a round.
If a PC were a race that, for some reason, couldn't make iterative attacks (because they don't have arms, for example) then their only attck would be primary and deal 1-1/2 str.

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

It is wrong.
All PCs have access to some type of iterative attack, so they wouldn't qualify as having only one type of attack. If a PC picks up a secondary attack from a feat or a trait, it would be a secondary attck even if that's the only attack they make in a round.
If a PC were a race that, for some reason, couldn't make iterative attacks (because they don't have arms, for example) then their only attck would be primary and deal 1-1/2 str.
I'm going to disagree.
If a PC has a bite attack and elects to just bite for that round rather than use a weapon then they get 1.5 STR. Pretty sure "if they have multiple attacks" was still referring to having multiple natural attacks.

![]() |

There are a number of Racial traits, Race Traits, and low level class abilities that grant a PC access to a natural attack. Many of these attacks are secondary, and generally awful. But then I read the rules on natural attacks:
"Most creatures possess one or more natural attacks (attacks made without a weapon). These attacks fall into one of two categories, primary and secondary attacks. Primary attacks are made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and add the creature’s full Strength bonus on damage rolls. Secondary attacks are made using the creature’s base attack bonus –5 and add only 1/2 the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls. If a creature has only one natural attack, it is always made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and adds 1-1/2 times the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls. This increase does not apply if the creature has multiple attacks but only takes one. If a creature has only one type of attack, but has multiple attacks per round, that attack is treated as a primary attack, regardless of its type."
So, from what I'm reading here, so long as a PC doesn't learn a second natural weapon type, they can reliably deal >=1 Str even if it's a secondary attack?
This feels wrong.
Remember, that Specific Trumps General. So General is the detail on Natural Attacks. Specific is the rule that grants a character that does not usually have a natural attack one or more natural attacks.
So if the specific ability says a creature gains a natural attack (bite for example) as a secondary attack. Then That specific rule trumps the ruling that otherwise that single natural attack would be a primary and get 1.5x STR.
If the ability gives the creature only one natural attack (maybe Gore this time) but does not specify it is a secondary attack. Then yes, if that Gore is the creatures only natural attack the gore attack would be 1.5x STR.

DiscOH |
Remember, that Specific Trumps General. So General is the detail on Natural Attacks. Specific is the rule that grants a character that does not usually have a natural attack one or more natural attacks.So if the specific ability says a creature gains a natural attack (bite for example) as a secondary attack. Then That specific rule trumps the ruling that otherwise that single natural attack would be a primary and get 1.5x STR.
If the ability gives the creature only one natural attack (maybe Gore this time) but does not specify it is a secondary attack. Then yes, if that Gore is the creatures only natural attack the gore attack would be 1.5x STR.
The part that feels weird is, if you gain a second, secondary attack, you actually lose damage.
It doesn't feel like this was designed for PC use.

swoosh |
3 people marked this as a favorite. |
I'm not sure why this is even a question.
"If a creature has only one natural attack, it is always made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and adds 1-1/2 times the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls"
Is literally the single most clear wording you could possibly give here. Arguably the single most clear rule in all of Pathfinder. There's no way you can parse that as... not doing exactly what it says.

dragonhunterq |

Glorf Fei-Hung wrote:
Remember, that Specific Trumps General. So General is the detail on Natural Attacks. Specific is the rule that grants a character that does not usually have a natural attack one or more natural attacks.So if the specific ability says a creature gains a natural attack (bite for example) as a secondary attack. Then That specific rule trumps the ruling that otherwise that single natural attack would be a primary and get 1.5x STR.
If the ability gives the creature only one natural attack (maybe Gore this time) but does not specify it is a secondary attack. Then yes, if that Gore is the creatures only natural attack the gore attack would be 1.5x STR.
The part that feels weird is, if you gain a second, secondary attack, you actually lose damage.
It doesn't feel like this was designed for PC use.
Don't choose an option that grants you a second secondary attack. Problem solved.

lemeres |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

The rule about manufactured weapons takes precedence over the 'single natural attack' rule.
Using a manufactured weapon makes everything into secondary attacks.... as in the x1/2 kind.
You can look at pretty much any bestiary creature with a weapon and a bite (the most common single natural attack, particularly on weapon using creatures) to see how these interact.
For a random example:
sinspawn

Lady-J |
I'm not sure why this is even a question.
"If a creature has only one natural attack, it is always made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and adds 1-1/2 times the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls"
Is literally the single most clear wording you could possibly give here. Arguably the single most clear rule in all of Pathfinder. There's no way you can parse that as... not doing exactly what it says.
if the attack in question is called out as a secondary attack even tho it may be your only natural attack you still take the -5 to hit and .5 str damage one example of this is the half orc tusked trait or the toothy racial trait both are called out as only able to be secondary attacks always taking the -5 to hit and .5 str dmg

dragonhunterq |

swoosh wrote:if the attack in question is called out as a secondary attack even tho it may be your only natural attack you still take the -5 to hit and .5 str damage one example of this is the half orc tusked trait or the toothy racial trait both are called out as only able to be secondary attacks always taking the -5 to hit and .5 str dmgI'm not sure why this is even a question.
"If a creature has only one natural attack, it is always made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and adds 1-1/2 times the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls"
Is literally the single most clear wording you could possibly give here. Arguably the single most clear rule in all of Pathfinder. There's no way you can parse that as... not doing exactly what it says.
Not sure where you get this from as neither Tusked or Toothy make the bite secondary. Toothy is explicitly primary. Tusked is unusual, in that it is a primary attack (bite is always primary unless stated otherwise) that takes a -5 to hit if used as part of any full attack -it doesn't even lose the x1 damage as it doesn't lose it's primary attack status.

dragonhunterq |

DiscOH wrote:There are a number of Racial traits, Race Traits, and low level class abilities that grant a PC access to a natural attack. Many of these attacks are secondary, and generally awful. But then I read the rules on natural attacks:
"Most creatures possess one or more natural attacks (attacks made without a weapon). These attacks fall into one of two categories, primary and secondary attacks. Primary attacks are made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and add the creature’s full Strength bonus on damage rolls. Secondary attacks are made using the creature’s base attack bonus –5 and add only 1/2 the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls. If a creature has only one natural attack, it is always made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and adds 1-1/2 times the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls. This increase does not apply if the creature has multiple attacks but only takes one. If a creature has only one type of attack, but has multiple attacks per round, that attack is treated as a primary attack, regardless of its type."
So, from what I'm reading here, so long as a PC doesn't learn a second natural weapon type, they can reliably deal >=1 Str even if it's a secondary attack?
This feels wrong.
Remember, that Specific Trumps General. So General is the detail on Natural Attacks. Specific is the rule that grants a character that does not usually have a natural attack one or more natural attacks.
So if the specific ability says a creature gains a natural attack (bite for example) as a secondary attack. Then That specific rule trumps the ruling that otherwise that single natural attack would be a primary and get 1.5x STR.
If the ability gives the creature only one natural attack (maybe Gore this time) but does not specify it is a secondary attack. Then yes, if that Gore is the creatures only natural attack the gore attack would be 1.5x STR.
Just to clarify as I don't believe this is strictly right. A bite attack and a gore attack are both normally primary natural attacks. An ability that made them secondary attacks would still follow all the normal rules for secondary attacks - including the bit about sole natural attacks attacking at full BAB and x1.5 strength - unless there is a clause stating it is ALWAYS a secondary attack.