Do Spell Focus and / Or Elemental Focus apply to Rime-Blooded Arcana


Rules Questions


Got the following question:

If you have Spell Focus or Elemental Focus, and you cast a spell that those affect, and that spell has a secondary effect with a DC, do those feats raise the DC of the Rime-Blooded Arcana effect?

"Whenever you cast a spell with the cold descriptor, you may select one target of the spell to be slowed (as the spell) for 1 round. A Fortitude save (DC 10 + the level of cold spell + your Charisma modifier) negates the effect"

I can see the argument both ways.


Per RAW, it does. It increases all saving throws of those spells, which would include rider effects, such as what you've listed.

Per RAI, I don't think it would, primarily because Rime-Blooded isn't an effect of the spell (which is what those feats are meant to enhance), and is merely an effect of your bloodline when you cast those spells.

Either way, I'd chalk it up to table variance/Ask your GM, because at the end of the day, he says what happens at your table.


In this case I am the DM!

I think I'll allow it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Do Spell Focus and / Or Elemental Focus apply to Rime-Blooded Arcana All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.