Mystic Past Life and Summoner Spells


Rules Questions


I have a question... One of my players is running a Samsaran Wizard with Mystic Past Life... He wants to add summoner spells to his spell list, such as Summon Eidolon (2nd level summoner spell).

It does not say in the spell description that the eidolon class feature is required for use of the spell...

So, does that mean he can summon an eidolon with that ability? And then use Evolution Surge on it afterwards?

Would he build the eidolon as a summoner of equal level that would be summoned?

Some interesting questions... I'm looking for some second opinions on how that would work.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Quote from Summon Eidolon:

Quote:
You open a rift between dimensions that summons your eidolon. Treat this as if you had summoned your eidolon normally..

while it's not literally mentioned "requires eidolon class feature" it seems quite obvious to me that you can NOT summon A eidolon, only YOURS.

and wizards do not have THEIR eidolon


By my reading of the spell description it constantly refers to your eidolon and how the spell differs from the usual way to call the summoner's Eidolon. This could be interpreted that you need to have the eidolon feature tof cast it.

A generous GM might allow it but I would not allow it and ask him to make a different selection as he doesn't have an eidolon to summon to begin with.

Edit: typo and ninja'd


In general, you want to keep a tight grip on Mystic Past Life. There was a lot of discussion of it when it came out -- search around on these boards -- and the general consensus is that it's pretty abusable.

Doug M.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mystic Past Life and Summoner Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.