WoR Seelah and Corrupted boons w / Holy Phylactery


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Seelah's pwer reads : When you acquire a boon that has the Corrupted trait, bury it.
Holy Phylactery reads: During and encounter, bury this card to ignore the Corrupted trait on a boon until the end of that encounter.

The question is, if I play the HP during the encounter in which I "acquire" a corrupted boon, can I put it into my hand instead of burying it? Do you acquire the boon after the encounter is over and therefor the HP no longer applies, and then have to bury said boon?

Thanks in advance.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I'm not certain, but I would play it as "the Holy Phylactery lets you hold onto the acquired boon"


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

So, you play Holy Phylactery during an encounter with a boon, targeting that boon. As such, you ignore the Corrupted trait on that boon. You then acquire the boon. Acquiring a boon is still part of the encounter (it's during the Resolve the Encounter step), so you're still ignoring the Corrupted trait.

WotR rulebook, p11 wrote:
Resolve the Encounter. If you succeed at a check to acquire a boon, put it in your hand; otherwise, banish it.
WotR Rulebook, p2 (emphasis mine) wrote:
If a card and this rulebook are ever in conflict, the card should be considered correct. There is one exception to this: When the rulebook uses the word “never,” no card can overrule it. If cards conflict with one another, then Adventure Path cards overrule adventures, adventures overrule scenarios, scenarios overrule locations, locations overrule support cards, support cards overrule characters, and characters overrule other card types. Despite this hierarchy, if one card tells that you cannot do something and another card tells you that you can, comply with the card that tells you that you cannot; if a card tells you to ignore something, the thing you’re ignoring never has any effect. If a card instructs you to do something impossible, like draw a card from an empty deck, ignore that instruction.

So, we're ignoring the Corrupted trait, acquiring the boon is still during the encounter. We know that if we're ignoring something, it never has any effect. "When you acquire" happens immediately when the trigger happens, in other words, when the card is acquired during the Resolve the Encounter step. As such, Seelah's power doesn't trigger because the boon doesn't have the Corrupted trait at that time. After the encounter is over and it has the Corrupted trait again, Seelah's power does not trigger again because you didn't acquire the boon again. As such, you get to keep it.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Yep.


I bet the Pathfinder Adventure guys are going to have tons of fun with this.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / WoR Seelah and Corrupted boons w / Holy Phylactery All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion