|
|
Most of my group was under the impression that you had to purchase a scroll in order to add the spell into a spellbook or had to copy from another PC.
Recently, however, I have started actually looking into it as I now have a Wizard myself, and I'm suspecting it works differently now.
So I'm going to list the ways that I am now believing to be the case, and if someone could tell me if I'm right or wrong on each one, that would be most helpful. (Spellcraft checks will be assumed successful for now)
1) Another PC, paying only scribe costs for appropriate level.
2) From a scroll, paying scroll cost and scribe costs.
3) From a scroll from a chronicle sheet, paying only scribe costs.
4) From an enemy spellbook, paying only scribe costs.
5) From an NPC, paying scribe costs +50% for access. (If this is true, can it be done during down time?)
Thanks for all your help community!
|
Most of my group was under the impression that you had to purchase a scroll in order to add the spell into a spellbook or had to copy from another PC.
Recently, however, I have started actually looking into it as I now have a Wizard myself, and I'm suspecting it works differently now.
So I'm going to list the ways that I am now believing to be the case, and if someone could tell me if I'm right or wrong on each one, that would be most helpful. (Spellcraft checks will be assumed successful for now)
1) Another PC, paying only scribe costs for appropriate level.
2) From a scroll, paying scroll cost and scribe costs.
3) From a scroll from a chronicle sheet, paying only scribe costs.
4) From an enemy spellbook, paying only scribe costs.
5) From an NPC, paying scribe costs +50% for access. (If this is true, can it be done during down time?)Thanks for all your help community!
yes to all those - with #5 being the most common now (Yes, during downtime).
and #3 has the most potential problems. Did you actually recover the scroll? did you use it in the game (then it is used and can't be scribed)? did the Witch in your party feed it to her familiar? Did the Alchemist scribe it to his book before you accessed it?
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Most of my group was under the impression that you had to purchase a scroll in order to add the spell into a spellbook or had to copy from another PC.
Recently, however, I have started actually looking into it as I now have a Wizard myself, and I'm suspecting it works differently now.
So I'm going to list the ways that I am now believing to be the case, and if someone could tell me if I'm right or wrong on each one, that would be most helpful. (Spellcraft checks will be assumed successful for now)
1) Another PC, paying only scribe costs for appropriate level.
2) From a scroll, paying scroll cost and scribe costs.
3) From a scroll from a chronicle sheet, paying only scribe costs.
4) From an enemy spellbook, paying only scribe costs.
5) From an NPC, paying scribe costs +50% for access. (If this is true, can it be done during down time?)Thanks for all your help community!
All of those are correct except for 3 (which is very close). If you find a scroll during an adventure you can scribe that spell without paying the cost for the scroll. However that uses up the scroll so in the case of two incompatible classes that would both like the scroll (such as a witch and a wizard) only one can get it for free. (For two wizards one can just copy from the other's book as in case 1.) Or maybe you used the scroll during the adventure and no one gets to scribe it for free. As a result you can't go through old chronicles for scrolls, it has to be done during the adventure.
In cases 3 and 4 the GM needs to initial that you gained the spell in that way somewhere on your chronicle.
Case 5 can be (and almost always is) done during downtime between adventures as scribing spells takes a fairly long time (in-world).
Edit: changed "during downtime" to "between adventures" as Downtime is now defined and you can only take a single Downtime Action (such as a day job) per chronicle. Scribing spells doesn't use up that action but can be done in the indefinite time between adventures.
|
Tyler Reid wrote:(Spellcraft checks will be assumed successful for now)
Just wanted to respond to this part, since nobody else did yet. You can take 10 on those spellcraft checks, so nobody should ever fail, or have to roll, as long as they put a rank into it every couple of levels.
This actually depends on your GM. I've played with more than one (and more than one judge in PFS) who wouldn't allow T-10 on spellcraft checks to scribe spells. Mostly I just don't ask any more... it's easier that way.
|
And Nosig and I both know that any GM that won't let you take 10 on the spellcraft check is wrong about the rules. But that won't stop them from being wrong and not allowing it.
Depends on what you are using spellcraft for. Once upon a time a designer said that using spellcraft while crafting or scribing spells was the very definition of "free from distractions" so taking 10 is fine.
The complication comes with using detect magic to identify a magical item. During a playtest (don't remember which book) there was a power that explicitly allowed you to take 10 in those circumstances. To which people said "Huh? I thought you could already do that." Jason Bulmahn replied that "concentrating on the spell is distracting so you can't normally take 10." The ability never made it into print but Jason never retracted his statement.
Arguments ensue.
|
|
|
Fromper wrote:And Nosig and I both know that any GM that won't let you take 10 on the spellcraft check is wrong about the rules. But that won't stop them from being wrong and not allowing it.
Depends on what you are using spellcraft for. Once upon a time a designer said that using spellcraft while crafting or scribing spells was the very definition of "free from distractions" so taking 10 is fine.
That was the usage of spellcraft we were talking about here. Actually, if someone can find that quote from a designer here on the forums, a link to that would be useful.