Cavaliers and horse charge


Rules Questions


Well, I'm still digging around to see if an AC can 'attack' while in a charge. I see it references the rider as getting only one attack. Then it goes into Bull Rush, which I don't know too much about yet. I like trample but it's got multiple pre-requisite feats before eligibility. Are the horse and rider one unit or two separate units going the same direction? That may be where we find an answer.
I wonder about the 'Bite' attack for a horse. Yes, they can bite (I've been bitten) but I would think they'd use their hooves before they'd bite. Front strike with shod hooves is very painful and can be quite injurious. I would think that a charging horse with a cavalier on top of him would have two, perhaps three, things happen. One, the lance strike with possible double damage. Second, would be the mass of the horse impacting the opponent would either knock him into next week, get stomped on as the horse goes over him and does a tap dance on him, or maybe getting bitten. Is that four things?
Still digging around and enjoying the research. Learning new things everyday.


Yes, BUT: Usually, you would charge with a lance. Rider has 10' reach, horse only 5'. Mount and rider charge in unison, and the rules for a charge state that you stop moving once you attack. Therefore, the charge stops after the rider attacks, with the horse out of reach.

If you and your mount have the same reach, you each get an attack.

As for the advanced interactions, you need to sit down with someone and go through it because the rulebook is rubbish.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Ah, forgot about that 10' reach on the lance and the horse having a 5' reach.
So, if the cavalier charged wielding his trusty war axe, instead of the lance for some reason, how would it work with no reach on the axe and the horse having a reach of 5'?


*bump*


I think if you use hand to hand weapons your horse bites...
But regardless with whatever weapon I would say no horse bite
on a full charge. But what about when you charge with your lance... Surly whoever is in the receiving area bite or not would the not take a trample shot?
That would allow a lance blow and trample damage?

But I would think if your on your horse swinging your axe, then your horse could bite.

But what if you have imitative over your horse? Could you not axe him.... Then on horses attack it rears back and front hooves him as an attack?

Any cavaliers out here have some insite?
We're trying to make the cavalier and his mount a force to be reckoned with!

Liberty's Edge

Kirbdog wrote:
But what if you have imitative over your horse? Could you not axe him.... Then on horses attack it rears back and front hooves him as an attack?

Do you mean if you have initiative over your horse? Cause that doesn't happen. Your mount acts on you initiative, as you direct it. It's a free action DC 10 ride check to have your mount attack, so you can do that before making your own attacks, in between your attacks, or after them. Though it's usually much easier to do before or after, and the GM might insist on it.

In order for your horse to be able to bite on a charge, you need to attack from the same square, thus needing the same reach. This can be accomplished either by using a non-reach weapon, or by giving the horse the Lunge feat and using a reach weapon like a lance.

Tramples are complicated because, well, they're really not explained very well in the core rulebook. So you'll likely want to talk to the GM about it, but some things that aren't really addressed: does the mount need improved overrun to not provoke, or does the PC, or both? Similarly, are both considered to be using the overrun ability? Also, while more pedantic, and easier to solve, as stated in the core rulebook the overrun maneuver requires a standard action to perform, while moving or charging. Technically a charge is a full round action, meaning you wouldn't have a standard action to overrun, but this is clearly just poor phrasing, otherwise the ability simply doesn't work.

So, talk it over with the GM. Most GMs I've seen run it as the horse doing the overrun, as it's the one doing the moving, so it would also require the improved overrun feat to not provoke.

So assuming you have ride-by attack to keep moving on the charge, have either lunge on the mount, or are not using a reach weapon, and the horse succeeds by 5 or more on the overrun check you could have one attack from the rider, one bite from the horse, plus an additional hoof attack from the horse from trampling.

Scarab Sages

The mounted combat rules are a little confusing and under developed, but there's a book you can get which provides a lot of great options and which explicates a number of things in the rules.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

It gets more interesting with the Beast Rider Archetype.

What if your mount has a longer reach then the rider on a charge? Do you stop at the mount's reach or the rider's?
As a GM, I've ruled that, since it is the rider who is directing the charge, then it goes by his reach. Still interested in other people's views.

What if you use ride-by attack and your mount has pounce, can your mount full attack and then keep going because of ride-by?


Good stuff! Thanks a lot gang!
Keep the i puts and ideas coming...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cavaliers and horse charge All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions