You will never guess what I just discovered about "overrun on a charge"...


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

So, I was in yet another thread about overruns, mounted charges, and the rest of that hot steaming mess the PDT refuses to address while they answer important questions like "does the Bard Loremaster ability actually do anything?".

Now, the issue was how "as part of a charge" works, with some people espousing the ...novel... idea that they get a free action overrun in addition to their charge attack. Seeing that it is a Core Rulebook issue, I decided to engage in a bit of rules archaeology. And I found out that the part about overruns as part of a charge was errataed out of the 3.5 PHB; Skip Williams mentions it here. Checking d20srd.org, it doesn't have the "during a charge" wording either.

I find it unlikely (to the point of "no reasonable doubt") that Paizo would deliberately re-introduce overrun-during-charge using the same confusing wording, when simple transcription error explains it much better.

TL;DR: "overrun during charge" is in the CRB because someone at Paizo was copying from the wrong document.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

d20srd.org includes the errata. It is not the same as the official SRD.

As far as I know, the errata wasn't declared Open Content, so Paizo couldn't use it even if they wanted to.


4 people marked this as a favorite.

"Ten shocking errors that you won't BELIEVE made it into the Core!!!!"


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Vlaeros wrote:
"Ten shocking errors that you won't BELIEVE made it into the Core!!!!"

...yeah, that wasn't the best way to write the thread title.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / You will never guess what I just discovered about "overrun on a charge"... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion