Mesmerist + Hypnotic / Bold / Painful Stare: Does it work when the target -can't- see the Mesmerist?


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

With the release of Ultimate Intrigue and particularly a spell within it, a question is thus raised:

Can a target that cannot observe the Mesmerist be affected by its "stare" class features?

From the hypnotic stare description:

Quote:
"The hypnotic stare is a psychic effect, and relies more on the mesmerist's focus than the target's perception of his stare."

and

Quote:
"The mesmerist can use this ability even while blinded, but must succeed at a DC 20 concentration check to do so."

indicate the mesmerist doesn't need to be perceived directly by the target, but how cut and dry is this relationship?

Can the Mesmerist use this while invisible? What about if they're under the effects of hidden presence? (Ultimate Intrigue 216)


It depends on whether or not they count as gaze attacks i think? good question.

That first quote seems to indicate that the target does not have to be able to see the mesmerist, it acts more like a psychic wave of bad juju that just happens to originate from the mesmerist's eyes/brain.

Sovereign Court

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

Also,

Hypnotic Stare wrote:
It can't be avoided in the same ways a gaze attack can.

The mesmerist doesn't need to be perceived at all. However, Hypnotic Stare counts as an attack and would break either invisibility or hidden presence.

Dark Archive

Hypnotic stare does not require an attack roll, and does no damage. How is it considered an attack, ie would break invisibility?


Core Rulebook (p.208) wrote:
All offensive combat actions, even those that don’t damage opponents, are considered attacks. Attempts to channel energy count as attacks if it would harm any creatures in the area. All spells that opponents resist with saving throws, that deal damage, or that otherwise harm or hamper subjects are attacks. Spells that summon monsters or other allies are not attacks because the spells themselves don’t harm anyone.

Getting a penalty to your will save seems like an offensive combat action that hampers your enemy to me.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mesmerist + Hypnotic / Bold / Painful Stare: Does it work when the target -can't- see the Mesmerist? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.