
Cuup |

During a Rage - specifically a Barbarian Rage, but this applies to just about all other sources - a character takes a -2 penalty to AC. Are there any rulings on the implications beyond -2 AC?
What I mean is does this -2 penalty apply to JUST the total AC? Does it apply specifically to Touch, or specifically to Flat-footed, or are both affected in cases of touch attacks or being caught flat-footed? If Touch is affected, does this go on to affect your CMD?

Gauss |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Touch Attacks: Some attacks completely disregard armor, including shields and natural armor—the aggressor need only touch a foe for such an attack to take full effect. In these cases, the attacker makes a touch attack roll (either ranged or melee). When you are the target of a touch attack, your AC doesn’t include any armor bonus, shield bonus, or natural armor bonus. All other modifiers, such as your size modifier, Dexterity modifier, and deflection bonus (if any) apply normally.
Touch attacks are your AC without armor bonus, shield bonus, or natural armor bonus. You apply all other modifiers normally. The Barbarian Rage's -2 AC penalty is another modifier.
Flat-Footed: At the start of a battle, before you have had a chance to act (specifically, before your first regular turn in the initiative order), you are flat-footed. You can’t use your Dexterity bonus to AC (if any) while flat-footed. Barbarians and rogues of high enough level have the uncanny dodge extraordinary ability, which means that they cannot be caught flat-footed. Characters with uncanny dodge retain their Dexterity bonus to their AC and can make attacks of opportunity before they have acted in the first round of combat. A flat-footed character can’t make attacks of opportunity, unless he has the Combat Reflexes feat.
Flat-footed is your AC without your dexterity bonus. Thus the Barbarian Rage's -2 AC penalty still applies (assuming you are raging while flat-footed which is an uncommon situation).
A creature can also add any circumstance, deflection, dodge, insight, luck, morale, profane, and sacred bonuses to AC to its CMD. Any penalties to a creature’s AC also apply to its CMD. A flat-footed creature does not add its Dexterity bonus to its CMD.
Penalties to AC apply to CMD.