A touch AC question


Rules Questions


So I was wondering if the enhancement bonuses from magic armor would apply to touch AC. What about force spells like Mage Armor or Shield?

Liberty's Edge

Sorry, but no, no, and no. Touch Attacks.

Enhancement bonuses for armor add to the Armor AC Bonus.
The Mage Armor spell grants a +4 Armor Bonus to AC, which Touch Attacks ignore.
The Shield spell grants a +4 Shield Bonus to AC, which Touch Attacks also ignore.


i guess it depends on what is touching. a certain level of magic will stop ethereals, but i dont know about the othes off top of head.


I thought force effects that boost armour were an exception, in that they apply to incorporeal touch attacks. Force effects include the Mage Armour and Shield spells.

Shadow Lodge

Salindurthas is correct. Shield and Mage Armor apply to touch attacks made by incorporeal creatures as they are force effects.

However it does not apply to any other types of touch attacks. Such as spells, spell like abilities and supernatural abilities.


Core Rule Book, Page 179 wrote:


Touch Attacks: Some attacks completely disregard
armor, including shields and natural armor—the
aggressor need only touch a foe for such an attack to
take full effect. In these cases, the attacker makes a
touch attack roll (either ranged or melee). When you are
the target of a touch attack, your [Touch] AC doesn’t include any
armor bonus, shield bonus, or natural armor bonus.
All
other modifiers, such as your size modifier, Dexterity
modifier, and deflection bonus (if any) apply normally.
[Note, this is not exhaustive; sacred, profane, etc. would apply, just not armor, shield, or natural armor bonuses...]
Some creatures have the ability to make incorporeal
touch attacks. These attacks bypass solid objects, such as
armor and shields, by passing through them. Incorporeal
touch attacks work similarly to normal touch attacks
except that they also ignore cover bonuses. Incorporeal
touch attacks do not ignore armor bonuses granted by
force effects, such as mage armor and bracers of armor.

[Emphasis and commentary mine.]

Since the enchantment bonus is typed as an armor bonus, and because Mage Armor provides an armor bonus, they do not add to your Touch AC (except as noted above for Mage Armor and incorporeal creatures).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / A touch AC question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.