Multi-archetyping


Rules Questions


I see a lot of players utilizing two archetypes of the same class at once. How does that work?

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

This should probably be in Rules Questions. Short answer is that you can have multiple archetypes as long as none of them have substitutions for the same class feature.


John Woodford wrote:
This should probably be in Rules Questions. Short answer is that you can have multiple archetypes as long as none of them have substitutions for the same class feature.

thank you, that's as I surmised, and perhaps some kind admin will transfer the thread to the appropriate forum.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Looks like it got moved.

ETA: Here's an example. A paladin can take both the Undead Scourge and Warrior of the Holy Light archetypes, because WotHL replaces spellcasting and aura of faith, while US replaces smite evil, aura of resolve, and aura of justice. OTOH, a paladin can't take both the Undead Scourge and Shining Knight archetypes, because both of them replace aura of justice.


it may have helped that I flagged the thread as being misplaced myself, but yes, thank you for your help.

Scarab Sages

I always use this chart. As long as the archetypes don't replace the same thing, you are good to go. But even one overlap makes it illegal.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Multi-archetyping All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.