Shaman Shapeshift Hex


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Quote:
Shapeshift (Su): The shaman transforms herself into another form for a number of minutes per day equal to her level, as alter self. This duration does not need to be consecutive, but must be spent in 1-minute increments. Changing form (including changing back) is a standard action that doesn't provoke an attack of opportunity. At 8th level, this ability works as beast shape I. At 12th level, this ability works as beast shape II. At 16th level, this ability works as beast shape III. At 20th level, this ability works as beast shape IV.

If you read Shapeshift literally, you lose the ability to use alter self after 8th level, you lose the ability to use beast shape I after 12th level, lose the ability to use BS II after 16th level, and lose the ability to use BS III at 20th level.

Is this what was intended, or was a Shaman meant to have the ability to use previous Shapeshifting forms even after picking up new ones at 8th, 12th, 16th and 20th level.


Beast shape I - IV all work the same anyway, each just expands upon the other. As for the alter self version... The way it reads indicates that you lose access to the alter self effects. I'd still allow it in any home games. Abilities get upgraded as you level, after all.


Does anybody play this ability in PFS? How do they rule it?


Read the answer you've been given, please. Beast Shape II-IV does everything BS I does and then some. What is it you want to accomplish by retaining the earlier versions?


I read it.

Does alter self still apply after 8th level in PFS? Yes, I agree that generally abilities progress. In fact, I can't think of any abilities in Pathfinder that do not progress. However this ability is worded funny. I am interested in how PFS plays it.

Silver Crusade

Driver_325yards wrote:
Does anybody play this ability in PFS? How do they rule it?

Once you choose the type of creature you will shapeshift into, then you use either AS or BSX to make the change, whichever is appropriate. At the higher levels, If you want to shapeshift into a humanoid, you still can.

But the alter self benefits don't stack with the Beast Shape X ability mods and abilities since both are polymorph abilities, which never stack with each other. You can only gain the benefits of one polymorph ability at a time, ever, regardless of the source(s).

Also the types of "humanoid", "animal", and "magical beast" are all mutually exclusive (i.e. no creature from the Bestiaries fits more than one of these categories.)


Driver_325yards wrote:

I read it.

Does alter self still apply after 8th level in PFS? Yes, I agree that generally abilities progress. In fact, I can't think of any abilities in Pathfinder that do not progress. However this ability is worded funny. I am interested in how PFS plays it.

Sorry, that was me being a jerkass. I suppose the hex loses an ability at 8th level. Expect table variation; I read for intent and overall consistency rather than expecting precision.

Silver Crusade

I should also add that if you are high enough level to turn into a magical beast, then you can also opt to turn into an animal instead. You just choose to use the BSX of the appropriate level (which could very well be a lower one).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shaman Shapeshift Hex All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.