| DM_Blake |
To be clear, you're not talking about making both attacks in the same combat round.
In which case, in round 1 you have no penalties because you're just making one attack as a standard action. This is a normal thing to do. Then in round 2 you have no penalties because you're just making one attack as a standard action. This is a normal thing to do.
There is no "off-hand" in this game EXCEPT when you make more than one attack in the same round using two hands with different weapons AND (most importantly) you gain an extra attack because of it.
It occurs to me that this might not have been clear.
You ONLY get attack penalties when using your "off-hand" to get an extra attack THIS round (whichever round it is). So if a level 1 fighter (who only gets one attack per round) picks up a dagger in each hand, he can choose to use just one hand (either hand) and make one attack. When he chooses this, it doesn't matter what's in the other hand (a dagger, a shield, a potion, a dead cat, nothing at all, whatever). He's only making one attack so his other hand doesn't matter. With a dagger in each hand this fighter could attack with his right hand this round, and his left hand next round, etc., switching as much as he wants. Still no penalties because he's still using just one hand each round to make just one attack.
But when that fighter says "I want to hit with BOTH daggers this round", then he must use the Two-Weapon Fighting rules. Doing so means he can attack twice this round instead of only once, but NOW he has a main hand and an off-hand (he can pick which is which) and he must apply the penalties to his attack rolls
| OldSkoolRPG |
Thank you. But now I have more questions :/
So could I get two attacks in the same round but with massive penaltys ?
Also can I grapple and still someone with my unarmed strike ?
It depends. If you get two attacks in the round and make one with your club and one with a kick. No penalties because you are not considered to be two weapon fighting.
If you get two attacks per round normally but choose to two weapon fight and make two attacks with your club and get an extra "off-hand" unarmed strike then you suffer two weapon fighting penalties.
Yes you can grapple someone and make unarmed strikes.
| DM_Blake |
These questions are answered in many threads on this forum. A quick search will give you all the answers you need.
No, you cannot use Two-Weapon Fighting (TWF) with a Two-handed (2H) weapon. Some GMs are lenient enough to let you make some TWF attacks with your 2H weapon and then let go to punch with your "off-hand" but even then you must make ALL of your attacks, right from the start of your round, at the attack penalties for fighting with TWF; you cannot make unpenalized attacks and then in the middle of your set of attacks suddenly switch to TWF and only take penalties on the rest of the attacks. Because of this, I think the rules disallow it and most GMs probably agree, but a few might let you do it because it seems like a guy could actually do it in real life (these lenient GMs are the ones not really following the rules).
I don't understand your last question. Did you mean "Can I grapple and still hit someone with your unarmed strike"? If so, then no. Not very easily. Grapple is a standard action, you cannot take ANY standard action AND attack in the same round. One or the other. Now, some advanced feats let you maintain a grapple in later rounds as just a move action and if you have those feats AND you take a big penalty for doing it with just one hand (see the Grapple rules), then you should be able to hit the guy with your other hand. Once. Even if you're holding a weapon in that hand. But that's some pretty advanced stuff for high level characters. Don't worry about it for a while.
| OldSkoolRPG |
These questions are answered in many threads on this forum. A quick search will give you all the answers you need.
No, you cannot use Two-Weapon Fighting (TWF) with a Two-handed (2H) weapon. Some GMs are lenient enough to let you make some TWF attacks with your 2H weapon and then let go to punch with your "off-hand" but even then you must make ALL of your attacks, right from the start of your round, at the attack penalties for fighting with TWF; you cannot make unpenalized attacks and then in the middle of your set of attacks suddenly switch to TWF and only take penalties on the rest of the attacks. Because of this, I think the rules disallow it and most GMs probably agree, but a few might let you do it because it seems like a guy could actually do it in real life (these lenient GMs are the ones not really following the rules).
I don't understand your last question. Did you mean "Can I grapple and still hit someone with your unarmed strike"? If so, then no. Not very easily. Grapple is a standard action, you cannot take ANY standard action AND attack in the same round. One or the other. Now, some advanced feats let you maintain a grapple in later rounds as just a move action and if you have those feats AND you take a big penalty for doing it with just one hand (see the Grapple rules), then you should be able to hit the guy with your other hand. Once. Even if you're holding a weapon in that hand. But that's some pretty advanced stuff for high level characters. Don't worry about it for a while.
I stand corrected. DM_Blake has it right. Although if you have Greater Grapple then maintaining the grapple is only a move action.
| DM_Blake |
If you get two attacks in the round and make one with your club and one with a kick. No penalties because you are not considered to be two weapon fighting.
To clarify, he means you can do this IF you ALREADY can make two attacks. For example, a level 6 fighter. In that case, yes, you can make one attack with any weapon: your great club, your other hand (without the locking gauntlet), a kick, a knee, whatever. Then you can make a second attack with any weapon and it doesn't have to be the same weapon. Doing this has no penalties because you are already allowed two attacks and you're not trying to use the Two-Weapon Fighting rules to get an extra attack.
| DM_Blake |
DM_Blake wrote:I stand corrected. DM_Blake has it right. Although if you have Greater Grapple then maintaining the grapple is only a move action.These questions are answered in many threads on this forum. A quick search will give you all the answers you need.
No, you cannot use Two-Weapon Fighting (TWF) with a Two-handed (2H) weapon. Some GMs are lenient enough to let you make some TWF attacks with your 2H weapon and then let go to punch with your "off-hand" but even then you must make ALL of your attacks, right from the start of your round, at the attack penalties for fighting with TWF; you cannot make unpenalized attacks and then in the middle of your set of attacks suddenly switch to TWF and only take penalties on the rest of the attacks. Because of this, I think the rules disallow it and most GMs probably agree, but a few might let you do it because it seems like a guy could actually do it in real life (these lenient GMs are the ones not really following the rules).
I don't understand your last question. Did you mean "Can I grapple and still hit someone with your unarmed strike"? If so, then no. Not very easily. Grapple is a standard action, you cannot take ANY standard action AND attack in the same round. One or the other. Now, some advanced feats let you maintain a grapple in later rounds as just a move action and if you have those feats AND you take a big penalty for doing it with just one hand (see the Grapple rules), then you should be able to hit the guy with your other hand. Once. Even if you're holding a weapon in that hand. But that's some pretty advanced stuff for high level characters. Don't worry about it for a while.
Actually, you had it right too - you can use TWF and a 2H weapon as long as you don't use your extra attack with your hands (you suggested a kick, that should work just fine, and monks do it all the time).
| Kobold Catgirl |
Blake is technically right, but I would clarify—you can deal damage with an unarmed strike or light/one-handed weapon while grappling, as a grapple check.
Again, Blake is right, but I think this is important to clarify. That standard action for grappling can have many uses. There's rarely a time a grappler chooses only to maintain.
| Darksol the Painbringer |
blackbloodtroll
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
If you are not using the Full Round Action, to two weapon fight, and gain an extra attack, then you are not two weapon fighting.
Only during that specific Full Round Action, do penalties, restrictions, and off-hands exist.
That's it.
Outside of that specific Full Round Action, NONE OF THOSE EXIST.
It is that easy, simple, and all rules support it.
Easiest way to remember: "No extra attack? No penalties."