How many magic weapons can one be affected by?


Rules Questions


The weapon quality Courageous doesn't mention having to be activated somehow (unlike most weapon qualities). This made me wonder how many weapons can you "wield".

The way I see it you can have Armor Spikes, Spiked Gauntlets, and a weapon (or spiked shield) per arm. For two armed creatures that makes 5 total. - I remember to use a spiked gauntlet I have to regrip/let go (free action) of my polearm. Would +1 courageous spiked gauntlets work even if I did wield a weapon with the same hand? How about armor spikes?

Of course at low levels that doesn't matter, as who has 8k gold flying around to buff the non-primary weapon, but later on that seems quite worth it for someone with a good source of moral bonus, doesn't it?

Is it a legitimate option? Since Barbarians benefit from this, how likely would you think it is that courageous armor spikes become part of many mid-level barbarian builds?

Sczarni

Courageous was recently errata'd.


Plus, if it still worked with courageous, than there's a rule where you can't be affected more than once by a bonus from the same named source. For example, Haste. Even though it gives a dodge bonus and therefore would usually stack with other sources of dodge, you don't ever benefit from it more than once even if more than one caster casts haste.

Sczarni

I seem to remember something about multiple Defending weapons not stacking, either, even though that bonus "stacks with all others" (and a BBEG in an AP relies on them stacking).

Although, upon further reflection, my Swashbuckler recently enchanted her Spiked Gauntlet with Flamboyant. It does make me wonder if purchasing a matching gauntlet for the other hand would increase her total Panache pool by 2. Also, she almost never attacks with it, but it's always available to attack with.


Outsch! That is a serious nerf for courageous. Don't think such a specific will save bonus is worth a +1 cost, is it?

But assuming you'd want it anyway, could you have it on a gauntlet while also wearing spiked armor and weapons and be affected by it?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Most enchantments on weapons are use-activated. The weapon must be actively used for them to function. Defending is an example of this. I think multiple defending weapons run afoul of the "same source" restriction (the source being the 'defending' weapon enchantment).

Liberty's Edge

Julix wrote:

Outsch! That is a serious nerf for courageous. Don't think such a specific will save bonus is worth a +1 cost, is it?

But assuming you'd want it anyway, could you have it on a gauntlet while also wearing spiked armor and weapons and be affected by it?

It all depend on your GM definition of Wielding.

Courageous say. "A courageous weapon fortifies the wielder's courage and morale in battle."

The most common interpretation of wielding is "utilizing", so if we use that interpretation if the gauntlet was the last weapon you used its benefit applies. If you used a different weapon it don't applies.

But for some ability wielding clearly mean "wearing". It we use that interpretation simply wearing the gauntlet is enough.

As the ability is meant to be used pm a weapon I am for the "actively use" interpretation, but other GM can use it differently. Ask your GM or, if PFS aspect table variation.

SlimGauge wrote:

Most enchantments on weapons are use-activated. The weapon must be actively used for them to function. Defending is an example of this. I think multiple defending weapons run afoul of the "same source" restriction (the source being the 'defending' weapon enchantment).

"Use activate" is a bit harsh, as it would work only when you are making an attack, and stop working as soon as your attack end.

We really need a definition of wield and a set of errata that replace hold/wear etc.where appropriate.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
Diego Rossi wrote:
"Use activate" is a bit harsh, as it would work only when you are making an attack, and stop working as soon as your attack end.

If we use Defending as our model, making an attack turns it on and it stays on until your next turn where, if you fail to use it again, it turns off.


Of course defending actually explains how it works, courageous does not cover the limitations. I feel for such a weak power it should be on when the weapon is held or worn. I haven't seen mid or high level play... Does fear become more important later on?

Grand Lodge

Rarely.

Sczarni

Depends on what your Will save is.

I've known high level PCs with terrible Will saves.


Diego Rossi wrote:


"Use activate" is a bit harsh, as it would work only when you are making an attack, and stop working as soon as your attack end.

We really need a definition of wield and a set of errata that replace hold/wear etc.where appropriate.

A round is 6 seconds during which all applicable actions occur. Regardless of how we split them apart to make sense of them mechanically, if you use your weapon to fight (aka attack) it takes place throughout that time period. What boils down to an attack roll, amounts to all the actions you take (parrying, dodging, feinting, movement in your square that doesn't consume tactical movement mechanically, etc.) during the entire time period.

The "seeming" intent from what we do have in the rules is, a weapon's use is for attacking. To gain its benefit you must do that (as clarified in Defending), and the same should apply to gauntlets or other items that could hold weapon enchancements.

As for Courageous, it wasn't a nerf, just a clarification for very poor wording that let people argue it gave more than it was intended.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How many magic weapons can one be affected by? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions