Can a magus use his arcane pool on a ranged weapon?


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

The magus would normally be in mêlée, not using ranged attacks, but versatility is good. A +1 bow would be useful on occasion.

Dark Archive

yes. any weapon

At 1st level, a magus can expend 1 point from his arcane pool as a swift action to grant any weapon he is holding a +1 enhancement bonus for 1 minute. For every four levels beyond 1st, the weapon gains another +1 enhancement bonus, to a maximum of +5 at 17th level. These bonuses can be added to the weapon, stacking with existing weapon enhancement to a maximum of +5. Multiple uses of this ability do not stack with themselves.

At 5th level, these bonuses can be used to add any of the following weapon properties: dancing, flaming, flaming burst, frost, icy burst, keen, shock, shocking burst, speed, or vorpal.

Dark Archive

I wish I had known (or thought of) that when I was pumping arrows into a monster that was attacking my ally in a pit.

Sczarni

An especially useful tactic for all those Dex-based Magi.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

It's one of the things that makes magus (myrmidarch)/arcane archer 3 so versatile. Imbue Arrow with area spells, Ranged Spellstrike with ranged touch spells, Enhance Arrows (Elemental) for "free" flaming, frost, or shock arrows all day, Arcane Pool to add enhancement bonuses and/or weapon abilities to any weapon, regular Spellstrike for melee (both standard touch and ranged touch spells with the Close Range arcana), etc.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a magus use his arcane pool on a ranged weapon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions