Monster attacks


Rules Questions


Hi guys,

I was wondering if someone could clarify the rules on monster attacks; what they can/can't do in a round. Here's a couple of monsters:

Cave Scorpion:
Melee 2 claws +2 (1d4), sting +2 (1d4 plus poison)
Special Attacks rend (2 claws, 2d4)

Troglodyte:
Melee club +2 (1d6+1), claw –3 (1d4), bite –3 (1d4) or 2 claws +2 (1d4+1), bite +2 (1d4+1)

Can the Cave Scorpion make two claw attacks AND a string attack in a single round? Is the rend damage an additional 2d4, assuming both of the claw attacks hit?

Can the Troglodyte make a club attack, a claw attack, AND a bite attack in one round? Can the Troglodyte alternatively make two claw and a bite attack in one round?

Sczarni

For attacks including a comma, a creature may perform each listed attack during a full attack. Scorpion can Claw/Claw/Sting, for example. As for rend:

Rend wrote:
If it hits with two or more natural attacks in 1 round, a creature with the rend special attack can cause tremendous damage by latching onto the opponent's body and tearing flesh. This attack deals an additional amount of damage, but no more than once per round. The type of attacks that must hit and the additional damage are included in the creature's description. The additional damage is usually equal to the damage caused by one of the attacks plus 1-1/2 the creature's Strength bonus.

You understand the Troglodyte entry correctly.


Yes. Yes.

Yes. Yes.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Remember that if they want to take a move action, they can only take one attack.


Thanks a lot guys, I appreciate the replies; thank you for the note on one attack when moving - I am assuming two claw attacks would be one attack when the description is such: 2 claws +2 (1d4+1).


Grenage wrote:
Thanks a lot guys, I appreciate the replies; thank you for the note on one attack when moving - I am assuming two claw attacks would be one attack when the description is such: 2 claws +2 (1d4+1).

No.

One attack, not a pair of attacks.

So with the scorpion, I would go Sting (because, poison chance).

Sczarni

Grenage wrote:
I am assuming two claw attacks would be one attack when the description is such: 2 claws +2 (1d4+1).

It's written like that to conserve space. Imagine a Giant Octopus being written as "Tentacle, Tentacle, Tentacle, Tentacle, Tentacle, Tentacle, Tentacle, Tentacle".

Unless an exception is given (and many exist), no creature may make more than one attack without using the Full Attack action.


Oh blimey; so it's a movement and one claw (or sting) attack OR no movement with two claw attacks AND a sting attack?

I need to start taking 5-foot steps away from monsters after I attack!


Grenage wrote:

Oh blimey; so it's a movement and one claw (or sting) attack OR no movement with two claw attacks AND a sting attack?

I need to start taking 5-foot steps away from monsters after I attack!

They can 5 foot adjust and do a full attack.

Sczarni

You can even take a 5ft step in the middle of a Full Attack.


Oh, I thought that a 5-foot was effectively a move action used, but no AoO. Thank you.

Sczarni

It's "not an action".

So you can spend a move action to draw a weapon, 5ft step, and spend a standard action to attack.

You just can't 5ft step if you've already moved.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ah I see, thank you for explaining that so clearly; I appreciate it.


Keep in mind, you don't get the 5ft adjust in addition to moving, you can do a full attack and 5ft adjust, you can adjust mid attack (as in, attack, move 5ft, attack attack).

You CANNOT move 30ft, attack, move 5ft.


Great, thank you. We tend to fluff the rules on the fly rather than look everything up to double-check, so I'm a little off on the small print.

Possibly also the big print in this case.


Grenage wrote:

Great, thank you. We tend to fluff the rules on the fly rather than look everything up to double-check, so I'm a little off on the small print.

Possibly also the big print in this case.

It's worth reading up on 5ft moves. It helps martials a LOT (monsters too).


I will do; there's obviously more to it than I'd given credit.


Note that 'move away after attacking' is sometimes worthwhile. If you're standing next to a dragon with lots of attacks, then you can hit it once and then walk ten feet out of its reach as a move action. That way you can only get hit twice (once as an AoO, and once on its next turn when it comes after you), not six times (bite, claw, claw, wing, wing, tail).


Matthew Downie wrote:
Note that 'move away after attacking' is sometimes worthwhile. If you're standing next to a dragon with lots of attacks, then you can hit it once and then walk ten feet out of its reach as a move action. That way you can only get hit twice (once as an AoO, and once on its next turn when it comes after you), not six times (bite, claw, claw, wing, wing, tail).

Most dragons have reach. At least on their bite.

Ten feet may not be enough.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monster attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.