
ArchAnjel |

If a prerequisite spell for the creation of a magic item has an expensive material component cost, does that cost need to be paid each and every day while the item is being crafted?
For example, the Fortification special ability for armor has a prerequisite of limited wish or miracle. Limited wish has a material cost of 1500 gp. If I put heavy fortification onto an existing suit of +3 armor, it would cost 55,000 gp and thus 55 days of crafting. If I have to expend a casting of limited wish each of those days, do I need to spend an additional 82,500 gp (1,500 gp x 55 days) just for the castings of limited wish?
If someone can point me to somewhere in the PRD where it states whether expensive material component costs do or do not have to be paid during item creation, I would really appreciate it.
And, yes I know I could just skip the prerequisite and accept a +5 to the DC; that's not the point of the question.

Alric Rahl |
From what I read of the magic item creation feats since you only need to make 1 skill check to finish the item I believe its more you cast the spell at the end of the creation too. You spend the whole time just infusing the weapon with raw magical energy and at the end of the construction process you cast the spell and make a check to complete the item. at least thats what I infer from the way its written, since it doesnt specifically call out that you continuously cast the spell everyday.
Magic Item Creation Wrote:
"In addition, some items cast or replicate spells with costly material components. For these items, the market price equals the base price plus an extra price for the spell component costs. The cost to create these items is the magic supplies cost plus the costs for the components. Descriptions of these items include an entry that gives the total cost of creating the item.
The above quote says only if you create an item that casts or replicates a spell. Since Fortification is not replicating Wish or Miracle I would say you do not have to pay for the material cost.

Jeraa |

From what I read of the magic item creation feats since you only need to make 1 skill check to finish the item I believe its more you cast the spell at the end of the creation too. You spend the whole time just infusing the weapon with raw magical energy and at the end of the construction process you cast the spell and make a check to complete the item. at least thats what I infer from the way its written, since it doesnt specifically call out that you continuously cast the spell everyday.
While this is specifically for magical armor, each "Creating X" section has similar wording:
If spells are involved in the prerequisites for making the armor, the creator must have prepared the spells to be cast (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and must provide any material components or focuses the spells require. The act of working on the armor triggers the prepared spells, making them unavailable for casting during each day of the armor's creation. (That is, those spell slots are expended from the caster's currently prepared spells, just as if they had been cast.)
It can be argued that since the spells aren't actually cast, you don't have to spend the component cost. Of course you can argue the other way too, as it does say "jut as if they had been cast" which could imply the component cost is required.

ArchAnjel |

Yeah, I can see that going either way. And the phrase, "and must provide any material components or focuses the spells require" suggests that they are required though doesn't state that they are consumed, given that the spell isn't actually cast, it just uses up the spell slot as if it had been.
In the end, I have a feeling that this just going to have to be a common sense ruling. It just doesn't make sense to charge absurdly more for a particular special ability just because its prerequisite has an expensive material component cost. Those costs are meant to be one-time expenses, not a prolonged tax on item creation.

Cevah |

Easy way to tell: Does the price of the item change if it is fast-crafted? Since you need 1/2 the spells infused, you would halve the components if those infused spells were "cast". Since this does not happen, the infusing is NOT casting and does not expend components.
The price has the cost of the components factored in as a constant multiplier. Potion & Scroll=1, Wand=50, Charged=50, Unlimited=100, etc. While Armor and Weapons are not usually listed with a multiplier, it can be difficult to determine their exact makeup. Their price can usually help there.
Note: Ring of Wishes is approx 25,000gp/wish price. They take approx 25 days to craft/wish. Each day a "wish" is infused. If the component was consumed, it would cost approx 625,000 to make and sell at a huge loss. This is obviously wrong.
If a prerequisite spell for the creation of a magic item has an expensive material component cost, does that cost need to be paid each and every day while the item is being crafted?
Basic answer: No.
/cevah

Qaianna |

Here's a couple of fun edge cases on that one.
Remember, you can fake the spell at +5 DC. Do you have to pay the cost when faking it? And can you elect to fake it if you just feel poor?
Second, if a spell has a variable focus or material component cost, which one gets used? (I don't know if any fit for this -- the only one I can think of is Restoration, and that's usually stuffed in a wand so you can't fake having the spell.)