Rapid shot and aoo trip


Rules Questions


alright so i ran into this problem, two players decided that their characters would get into a fight over some treasure they found.it was not the surprise round so no one was flatfooted.

Now player 1 decided to use rapid shot on player 2 (with a longbow). the problem we ran into was that player 1 was right ontop of player 2 as in melee range.

Player 2 did a aoo trip against player 1

now the argument that happened was this: rapid shot is a full attack action you can't attack with a longbow while prone so therefore due to having used the full attack action and they fell, their turn got "Interrupted" entirely due to having stated they where trying to use rapid shot.

player's 1 argument was that they should have still gotten their whole turn to try and use a dagger after the aoo was resolved.

thoughts on this?


So it went like this?

ARcher delcares full attack action (using rapid shot)
They get X number attacks.

I assume player 2, Trips on the first AOO (i.e. the first fired shot)?

Then player 1, if tripped would be unable to fire the arrows anymore because he is no longer able to.

Now the question is. How many iterative attacks does player 1 have?

Basically.. Rapid shot could not be used from prone, Unless they can pull out a valid weapon (ranged, has the ability to actually pull it out as a free action) like a Quick Drawn dagger they threw(assuming the prone combat rules allow throwing. I forget off hand). If they have BAB based attacks after rapid shot then those they can melee or ranged with as per rules of fighting when prone.


This is a common question with interrupts (found in AoOs and Readying an action) within the Pathfinder game.

One school of thought is that if you "declare" an action, it is the same as starting it and you are stuck.

Another school of thought is that because the interrupt (in this case the trip) happens before the trigger (rapid shot) that the now prone player can change his action for the round.

My group plays by the second school of thought. Many people on these forums play by the first. I suggest your group talks it out and chooses the one they like the most and sticks with it.

Search for "readied actions" or "trip lock" and you will probably find a few threads with a lot of opinions.

Grand Lodge

The World Shaper wrote:
alright so i ran into this problem, two players decided that their characters would get into a fight over some treasure they found.it was not the surprise round so no one was flatfooted.

This statement is incorrect.

Until a character/monster acts in combat, they are flatfooted.

So, if Archer wins initiative, unless non-Archer has Combat Reflexes (or the equivalent), Archer's first round actions won't provoke, as his opponent is still flatfooted.

Also note that there are several things that can negate an AoO on a ranged weapon user, as an example the Point-Blank Master feat form the APG, or even just 5' stepping back out of range.

Equally, if the non-Archer tries to trip, without having Improved Trip, he will provoke an AoO, and the Archer, depending on class (Zen Archer Monk) and feats (Snap Shot), who may get an AoO in response. Which, if it hits, gives the damage done as a bonus to the Archer's CMD aginst the trip attempt.


Player 1 is correct IF he has Quickdraw. If he does not then he cannot do what he is saying because he can only convert to a move action after the first attack.

CRB p187 wrote:
Deciding between an Attack or a Full Attack: After your first attack, you can decide to take a move action instead of making your remaining attacks, depending on how the first attack turns out and assuming you have not already taken a move action this round. If you’ve already taken a 5-foot step, you can’t use your move action to move any distance, but you could still use a different kind of move action.

So, he declares a Full-Attack action with his bow, then states he is using Rapid Shot (-2 attack penalty). No problem so far.

Next, he is tripped, and cannot use the bow.
Options become:
Free action drop bow -> Free action quickdraw other weapon (if he has quickdraw)-> Continue with Full-Attack action
OR
First attack is negated and he decides to use a move action instead of wasting the rest of his round.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rapid shot and aoo trip All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.