flash of insight


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Looking at the Oracle curse "Powerless Prophecy":

from d20:

"Powerless Prophecy

Source PCS:ISMC

You are forewarned of danger but can't act to prevent it. You gain uncanny dodge, as the rogue class feature. However, you can't take any actions in a surprise round, including free actions, except for flash of insight (see Revelations below). In the absence of a surprise round, you are staggered for the entire first round of combat.

Effect

At 5th level, you gain a +4 insight bonus on initiative checks.

At 10th level, you gain improved uncanny dodge as the rogue ability, using your oracle level as your rogue level.

At 15th level, you gain a +4 insight bonus on all your saving throws and to your AC during surprise rounds and when you are otherwise unaware of an attack."

What is this "flash of insight" ?
I haven't been able to find any revelation named so, there seem to be something of a similar name related to Cyclops.
Can anyone help me out here in explaining the rules of it and where to read about it for the future.

Or is it the simple thing of the curse steps counting as revelations?

Dark Archive

Yeah I was just wondering this too... I can't find this 'flash of insight' either?

Did they forget to print it?

Silver Crusade Contributor

It's because you're looking at it as a detached piece of game material, rather than in its original context - an unfortunate side effect of d20pfsrd.

Check out this archetype, from the same source. ^_^

Dark Archive

Ah okay, so then does a Powerless Prophecy cursed oracle have no access to that revelation unless they also take the archetype?

The Exchange

On a related question, our group is running Skulls and Shackles and recently fought several cyclopes with this ability. I interpreted it as if the ability only applies to the initial attack roll, if they are using it to guarantee a Nat 20, but it does not apply to the confirm roll (or vice versa). Is that a correct interpretation?


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber
Nightwish wrote:
On a related question, our group is running Skulls and Shackles and recently fought several cyclopes with this ability. I interpreted it as if the ability only applies to the initial attack roll, if they are using it to guarantee a Nat 20, but it does not apply to the confirm roll (or vice versa). Is that a correct interpretation?

Yes. It applies to a single d20 roll -- and the attack roll and confirmation roll are separate d20 rolls.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber
Zelda Marie Lupescu wrote:
Ah okay, so then does a Powerless Prophecy cursed oracle have no access to that revelation unless they also take the archetype?

That is correct. That revelation is an option that is made available only by the archetype.

Of course, if the oracle in question is actually a Cyclops, then he has no need for the revelation (but a second daily use of that ability would still be nice to have).


And a third with Abundant Revelations, a fourth with a lesser ring of revelation, and a fifth with a soothsayer's raiment.
Plus something similar from a Cyclops Helm.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / flash of insight All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions