
![]() |
2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |

If I have a feat that allows me to take an immediate action under specific conditions, such as Coordinated Charge which allows me to charge as an immediate action when an ally charges, does my action occur before, after, or simultaneously with the triggering action?
Is there a general rule for this? I always assumed triggered immediate actions interrupted the triggering action and resolved first, like an attack of opportunity, but it doesn't appear to be clearly spelled out anywhere.

Melkiador |

BigDTBone wrote:+1Actions which are triggered by another action go before the triggering action.
AOO's work like this as well as readied actions.
Also, it wouldn't be useful to cast feather fall after you hit the ground.
It's certainly a good house rule, but where is it written?

![]() |

Oddly, it's never specified that the immediate action goes before a triggering action. Comparatively, an Attack of Opportunity explicitly ["interrupts" the normal flow of actions].
That's what I ran into. It would make sense that an immediate action interrupts, but there are areas where actually knowing that for sure is fairly important. Like in the Coordinated Charge example, the order of events could be important for detereining whether the triggering action is even able to resolve, or what kind of actions it allows, like in the case of a mount and rider who both have the feat.

Alric Rahl |
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/s/stone-shield
Take for example Stone Shield. Its an immediate action to activate, and usually you activate it on someone elses turn when they attack you. so think of it as it happens at the same time as someone/something elses turn and literally takes a fraction of a second to complete.
So in the Case of Co-ordinated charge you and your teammate would just charge the person at the same time, roll your attacks at the same time and cause damage at the same time and now you both go in initiative order at the same time on subsequent rounds (Use Dex mod for who goes first)

Alric Rahl |
Melkiador wrote:Oddly, it's never specified that the immediate action goes before a triggering action. Comparatively, an Attack of Opportunity explicitly ["interrupts" the normal flow of actions].That's what I ran into. It would make sense that an immediate action interrupts, but there are areas where actually knowing that for sure is fairly important. Like in the Coordinated Charge example, the order of events could be important for detereining whether the triggering action is even able to resolve, or what kind of actions it allows, like in the case of a mount and rider who both have the feat.
In the case of a Mount and Rider. only one of those 2 should have the feat if its connected to another ally. Both of you dont need it. Either the Mount has it and you train it to charge when the Ally does, or you have it and spur the mount on when the ally charges. I would think that for either of these though only the one with the feat should get the attack as the other was not ready for the charge.
If you mean an Animal Companion you dont ride I can see the application. But otherwise on your turn if you are sitting on top of your mount you and the mount go at the same time as part of the charge. you both get to make one attack so long as both of you can get within reach of the target. You dont need Coordinated charge for that.

CampinCarl9127 |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

It's certainly a good house rule, but where is it written?
By choosing to delay, you take no action and then act normally on whatever initiative count you decide to act. When you delay, you voluntarily reduce your own initiative result for the rest of the combat. When your new, lower initiative count comes up later in the same round, you can act normally. You can specify this new initiative result or just wait until some time later in the round and act then, thus fixing your new initiative count at that point.
You never get back the time you spend waiting to see what's going to happen. You also can't interrupt anyone else's action (as you can with a readied action).
The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun. Readying is a standard action. It does not provoke an attack of opportunity (though the action that you ready might do so).
Readying an ActionYou can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes.
It's pretty obvious. Not a house rule in the slightest.

![]() |

In the case of a Mount and Rider. only one of those 2 should have the feat if its connected to another ally. Both of you dont need it. Either the Mount has it and you train it to charge when the Ally does, or you have it and spur the mount on when the ally charges. I would think that for either of these though only the one with the feat should get the attack as the other was not ready for the charge.
If you mean an Animal Companion you dont ride I can see the application. But otherwise on your turn if you are sitting on top of your mount you and the mount go at the same time as part of the charge. you both get to make one attack so long as both of you can get within reach of the target. You dont need Coordinated charge for that.
Right, but what if a cavalier wants to share it with his mount? Can the mount charge, triggering the cavalier's use of the feat, allowing him to take the charge action necessary to perform a mounted charge per the FAQ, and then still have a full round's worth of actions left (sans swift)?
Presumably the answer is yes, but the timing related to the trigger is important.
Since delayed actions say you can't interrupt someone else's action and readied actions say you can't, they don't provide much relevant guidance on the issue. Some immediate actions only make sense as interrupts, but others are more nebulous.

dragonhunterq |

Immediate Action: An immediate action is very similar to a swift action, but can be performed at any time—even if it's not your turn.
Readied action rules are a good guideline, but I would not hew to them religiously - immediate actions are not quite the same thing - you are reacting to something, not preparing for something.
It is clear that most immediate actions are capable of interrupting other actions - they simply don't work if they can't, even going so far as to happen before a triggering event, like the aforementioned stone shield or featherfall. And if one immediate action can do that, then the meaning of "at any time" becomes clear and any immediate action can do that.
For me, immediate actions can go before a triggering event and if that is true then it logically follows that they can also follow a triggering event. If you can react fast enough to interrupt an attack, you can control that reaction enough to let that action happen. For this reason, with something like coordinated charge, I would let the player choose when they take their immediate action - either immediately before or immediately after the triggering event.
In summary: Immediate actions can occur at any time or in response to a trigger. They can happen either before or after that trigger depending on the needs of the situation.
The one part of readied action rule that does NOT transfer over is the changing of initiative order. Using an immediate action never changes your initiative order