Save DC vs. spell cast from a scroll


Rules Questions


When casting a spell "live" the save DC is 10 + spell level + relevant ability modifier.

When casting a spell from a scroll, is there no ability modfier to the DC? Do you use your own, even if you didn't scribe the scroll? You can't otherwise use the scriber's relevant ability modifier because you have no way of knowing what that is.

Damon


Pathfinder SRD, Magic Items wrote:

Saving Throws Against Magic Item Powers

Magic items produce spells or spell-like effects. For a saving throw against a spell or spell-like effect from a magic item, the DC is 10 + the level of the spell or effect + the ability modifier of the minimum ability score needed to cast that level of spell.

Staves are an exception to the rule. Treat the saving throw as if the wielder cast the spell, including caster level and all modifiers to save DCs.

Most item descriptions give saving throw DCs for various effects, particularly when the effect has no exact spell equivalent (making its level otherwise difficult to determine quickly).

So you use the minimum ability score necessary to cast that level of spell.

For example, if the scroll is Fireball, a wiazrd needs an INT of 13 to cast it. A 13 INT has a +1 modifier. So the save DC would be 10 + 3 + 1 = 14.

Magic item saves always tend to be embarrassingly low compared to actually casting the spell yourself, assuming you're a PC with a decent/high primary casting ability score.

Grand Lodge

It's also why there exists feats and archetype features to bump up such DCs.


Now that you say it, it sounds familiar, but I wasn't able to find in in the SRD.

In this case it's an 8th level spell, so 18 WIS = +4 for a save DC of 22.

Thanks!


It's right here but the link to it at the top of the page doesn't work. Instead, click the "Magic Items Slots (Animals and Slots)" link (bottom of the middle column of links at the top of the page) and then scroll down just a little.


Try this one


Sorry, I wasn't clear: I couldn't find in the SRD before I posted the question (which is why I posted the question.) I was able to locate it based on DM Blake's first reply.

Thanks again.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Save DC vs. spell cast from a scroll All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions