Flurry of Blows et. al. and moving after the first attack


Rules Questions

51 to 55 of 55 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Shadow Lodge

BNW no offense but I never said you hated them ... I Paraphrased what you said

its ok if its a low level Monk (or 8 and lower)
but its not ok for a 9th+ ...

thats about the most hypocritical stance Ive ever seen

and what do you call it by allowing it for 8 and lower Monks but not for 9+ if not punative

you also Chose to avoid answering the situaion I presented to you

7th lvl Monk Aborts Flurry - by your interpretation your going to let it slide
9th level you wont

what happens when they are both at your table


Cerwin wrote:
If this came up at my table the way I would rule is that if you took a penalty on your first attack (like with TWF or flurry) then you can call off the full round attack after the first hit. However if you got a bonus on your first attack (like an extra arrow from multishot) you cannot.

I know I am late to the party, but this just basically screws monks and few others.

It is not the Monk's fault that he killed the enemy in one shot. Why would you change how Action Economy works for monks but not fighters?

The way my group worked it out was that there had to be some change in status or information for the Monk to break of an attack that was meant to be a flurry. For instance, the monk declares an attack, hits, and finds that he cannot damage the target due to DR.

Is it really fair to not allow the Monk to move away at all? To me, it is just meta-gaming to the opposite spectrum in the name of "good gaming" where the monk is the one getting gamed.

Liberty's Edge

Claxon wrote:

Yeah, manyshot is definitely 1 attack. It's basically knocking two arrows and firing them at the same time, so only 1 attack roll.

But it is clearly abusive for a player to use manyshot, then cancel the full attack repeatedly. As I stated, you should simply ask the player not to do that and if they can't abide it then ask them to leave.

faq wrote:

Manyshot: Can I fire two arrows with my shot, then cancel the full attack and take a move?

No. Though the rules for "Deciding between an Attack or a Full Attack (Core Rulebook 187) give you the option to move after your first attack instead of making your remaining attacks, Manyshot locks you into using a full attack action as soon as you use it to shoot two arrows.
posted March 2013 | back to top

Edit:

Already cited. See what happen when you comment before reading all the posts.

Liberty's Edge

BigNorseWolf wrote:

Claud,

many shot: When making a full-attack action with a bow, your first attack fires two arrows

By using Many shot you have locked yourself in to a full attack. (which is not nearly as bad for an archer as it is for melee). Your first attack got two arrows. You've receieved a benefit you're locked in.

I've also seen this come up for magus using spell combat.

The way I run the rest of them is that since the only thing you took was a penalty for flurry or two weapon fighting and didn't gain any benefits you should be able to change your mind.

This is more of a parity thing than raw though

Manyshot was clear from the start and we have a FAQ for it, but I don't see how it is so clear for spell combat.

As long as you make only 1 attack and don't cast the spell I think that you can stop your attack and move.
Remember, casting the spell isn't mandatory.

This FAQ:

FAQ wrote:


Magus, Spell Combat: Does spell combat count as making a full attack action for the purpose of haste and other effects?

Yes.

Edit 9/9/13: This is a revised ruling about how haste interacts with effects that are essentially a full attack, even though the creature isn't specifically using the full attack action (as required by haste). The earlier ruling did not allow the extra attack from haste when using spell combat.

count as a full attack for "other effects".

You have a source that say the opposite?

Liberty's Edge

Pink Dragon wrote:

The first attack of a flurry of blows suffers a penalty in comparison to a monk's standard attack only for monk levels 1-4. From levels 5-8, the first attack of a flurry of blows has no penalty in comparison to a monk's standard attack. After 8th level, the first attack of a flurry of blows has a bonus in comparison to a monk's standard attack.

It would seem odd that a monk could start a flurry, then abort to a standard attack after the first hit and then move at levels 1-4 but not at levels above 8. And how would the ruling go for levels 5-8?

Despite the apparent oddness of the "full attack decision to change and move after the first attack" rule when considering manyshot, flurry and TWF, the cleanest way is to simply say that it works the same for manyshot, flurry and TWF.

Flurry of blow for a standard monk always give a benefit: your BAB become the same of your level instead of 3/4. So, as from Fromper interpretation, you can't interrupt the attack as you have already received a benefit from your decision.

Cerwin wrote:
Pink Dragon wrote:

...After 8th level, the first attack of a flurry of blows has a bonus in comparison to a monk's standard attack...

i haven't play a monk past lvl 1 so I didn't know that after level 8 flurry got bonuses. But my answer remains the same if you took a penalty then you can call it off and move. If you get a bonus then you are locking into a full round attack. So at my table the monk would have the right to call off the full round attack until level 8.

He get a benefit from level 1.

A +1 to hit. The penalty of -2 is from TWF.

51 to 55 of 55 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Flurry of Blows et. al. and moving after the first attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions