Reach Evolution and Breath Weapon Attacks


Rules Questions

The Exchange

If I had a fairy dragon familiar with the Evolved Familiar evolution (Reach) could I change its 5 foot cone Breath Weapon into a 10 foot cone?

Reach just says, "One of an eidolon’s ATTACKs is capable of striking at foes at a distance. Pick one attack. The eidolon’s reach with that attack increases by 5 feet."

Breath weapon says, "A breath weapon ATTACK usually deals damage and is often based on some type of energy"


No. I would say no.

I think it is implied to be melee attacks.

Sovereign Court

Reach gives an attack a greater "reach"

Breath Weapons have a "range" or "area of effect" based on it's "line" or "cone" form. They don't have a "reach".

Grand Lodge

On the other hand, if you gave it reach (bite) you might be able to talk your GM into letting your breath weapon start 5 feet away from you. (It would still be a 5 foot cone, but it could hit any square within 10 feet of you.)

The Exchange

FLite wrote:
On the other hand, if you gave it reach (bite) you might be able to talk your GM into letting your breath weapon start 5 feet away from you. (It would still be a 5 foot cone, but it could hit any square within 10 feet of you.)

Sadly it looks like that's a no-go. :(

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Reach Evolution and Breath Weapon Attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions