Fleet warrior and fleet charge


Rules Questions


Hay lvl 17 fighter, 3 mythic champion here. My dm and I cant agree on the order of use concerning fleet warrior and fleet charge.

Fleet warrior: make full attacks before or after moving up to your speed

Fleet charge: swift action move up to your speed and can make an attack at any point of this movement

Now I'm trying to use it to move double my speed and then make my full attacks. Order goes, swift action fleet charge, droping the free attack then move and attack with fleet warrior. (I'm trying to reach the BBEWizard all the way over there before he can do anything fun) also fyi I have a base flying speed of 60 and our magus mythic hastes me all the time so you can see how this will be a broken combo.

I say based on the action economy of pathfinder this is just fine since swift actions are any point on your turn. My DM says based on the flow of combat I can't use the swift action first since I'm "dedicating" my full round action to moving and attacking. But I can use it after to go attack "that other guy over there" continuing my momentum from the full attacks.


Point 1, if the DM says it is so, then it is so at his/her table.

Here are the relevant texts:

Swift Action wrote:
A swift action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort than a free action. You can perform one swift action per turn without affecting your ability to perform other actions. In that regard, a swift action is like a free action. You can, however, perform only one single swift action per turn, regardless of what other actions you take. You can take a swift action anytime you would normally be allowed to take a free action. Swift actions usually involve spellcasting, activating a feat, or the activation of magic items.
Fleet Charge wrote:
As a swift action, you can expend one use of mythic power to move up to your speed. At any point during this movement, you can make a single melee or ranged attack at your highest attack bonus, adding your tier to the attack roll. This is in addition to any other attacks you make this round. Damage from this attack bypasses all damage reduction.
Fleet Warrior wrote:
When making a full attack, you can move up to your speed either before or after your attacks. This movement provokes attacks of opportunity as normal.

And because I do not want to miss anything:

Mythic Haste wrote:
Affected creatures gain an additional move action each round. The movement speed increase changes to 50 feet, to a maximum of three times the creature’s normal speed for that movement type.

I see nothing in the swift action description that requires it to be used at any particular point in turn except during your initiative phase (this is an important distinction separating it from Immediate actions). So with Mythic Haste in effect, you are moving at 110 feet per action, and you get an additional move action, which I assume you are taking first as you need to close the distance as stated above. Move 1 is 110 feet closer. Then swift action for Fleet Warrior carrying you through another 110 feet with the ability to attack at any point along this distance traveled bypassing any DR. With the wording of the ability saying "can make an attack" not "must make an attack" you are not required to make such an attack, however, an enterprising DM may institute a table rule that it is in the flavor of the ability and should only be used as such and not an additional movement. Well, you are third tier and you have not mentioned this, but why not use Amazing Initiative to get an extra action and then you can add your swift action on the end of it for an additional attack to your proposed routine?:

Amazing Initiative wrote:
At 2nd tier, you gain a bonus on initiative checks equal to your mythic tier. In addition, as a free action on your turn, you can expend one use of mythic power to take an additional standard action during that turn. This additional standard action can’t be used to cast a spell. You can’t gain an extra action in this way more than once per round.

Of course, you are sacrificing your standard action to perform a move action. Now you will have moved a total of 330 feet with the ability to make an attack during the last 110 feet at any point.

My current group is always looking for a way to do more with their limited action economy.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Fleet warrior and fleet charge All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions