Shadow Evocation'ed Continual Flame vs. Golems & High SR Creatures.


Rules Questions


I just wanted to confirm something with all you rules experts.

I have an exposed item that has a Shadow Evocation'ed Continual Flame cast on it. The lighting conditions in the local area are that of darkness. Except for the 20' radius of normal light around the SE'ed CF item ... and and additional 20' radius beyond that is now dim light.

So let's say at 30' away from the item, there's 2 creatures standing still:

1. Iron Golem ... (Immune to Magic)
2. Roper ........ (SR: 27)

Since the Continual Flame was cast on the item via Shadow Evocation, it has a SR: YES component to it. Meaning that the Continual Flame from the item does not reveal the Iron Golem at all (due to the item wielder being effectively blinded in the darkness). And the Roper will also not be revealed if it makes its Spell Resistance check.

Is this all correct?


No, the continual flame is interacting with the environment and the PCs , not the Golem or Roper in particular. Continual flame is a weird use of shadow evocation, but I would probably simply allow it to work because you are not trying to attack or effect the creatures.


Interesting take on it, Create MP. But it seems that the SR: YES component of the spell combo means that the emanating light coming off of the item would mean it actually *is* effecting those creatures since it is contact with them.


The flame is magical but the light it creates is mundane. Much like Acid arrow: it's a magically created mundane acid, which is why it doesn't allow spell resistance.

Shadow Lodge

SR only applies to the target of the spell, or creatures in the spell's area. The target of continual flame is "object touched" and does not have an area.

The golem and the roper are visible normally.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yeah, spell resistance only applies to the target of the spell. In this case the spell is targeting some item you have on your person. Assuming the item doesn't have spell resistance, and to my knowledge no items except intelligent would (though some items grant the wearer spell resistance), it would work just fine. After the spell is cast on the item, it just generates light. And the light will illuminate whatever is around.

A common method of overcoming even Deeper Darkness is using a Heightened Continual Flame spell on this inside of a locket. It's permanent, unless dispelled and since it's heightened to 4th level it overcomes Deeper Darkness unless they cast that spell heightened. Which is not going to be something commonly done.

Oh, and it only costs 330 gold to have an NPC cast it for you.


Yeah, it's not a take. The flame is the object created. This is the reason the actual spell has no SR. The emanation of the light is perfectly real and not subject to SR; it simply wouldn't make sense. This is a real corner case; which often occurs when it comes to the shadow line. But I am pretty comfortable that the RAW really doesn't cover this and the RAI would allow the light to continue. SR applies to targeting spells. Much like you wouldn't have SR against a buff on a player like mirror image, the same would apply here.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shadow Evocation'ed Continual Flame vs. Golems & High SR Creatures. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.