
Ross Byers RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32 |
2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |

Fuse grenades (and their shrapnel-filled children pellet grenades) take 1d3 rounds to go off.
However, they can also be thrown as splash weapons.
Does this mean
A) That you can throw them for immediate ignition similar to alchemist's fire, with a ranged touch attach and the whole nine yards?
B) Or is this just saying to use the Splash Weapon rules to figure out which square one lands in when you throw it, then you have to wait for it to go off?
I have the feeling the answer is B, because a direct hit seems unnecessary when these items have a blast radius. Which leads to my secondary question:
When you activate a grenade, do you know if it has 1, 2, or 3 rounds before detonating? I.e. can you (safely) hold it for a couple rounds before throwing, so your foe doesn't have a chance to move away?
Does it go off at the beginning or end of your turn? Let's say I've rolled a '1' on my fuse (or I rolled a 2 and held it for a round, or a 3 and held it for two rounds). Do I have to throw it this turn or risk having my fingers blown off? Can I throw it next turn before it explodes, but without letting anyone else react?
What if I ready an action (or delay), so that I act before the time my next turn would have started?

Eric Hinkle |

Fuse grenades (and their shrapnel-filled children pellet grenades) take 1d3 rounds to go off.
However, they can also be thrown as splash weapons.
Does this mean
A) That you can throw them for immediate ignition similar to alchemist's fire, with a ranged touch attach and the whole nine yards?
B) Or is this just saying to use the Splash Weapon rules to figure out which square one lands in when you throw it, then you have to wait for it to go off?
I have the feeling the answer is B, because a direct hit seems unnecessary when these items have a blast radius. Which leads to my secondary question:
When you activate a grenade, do you know if it has 1, 2, or 3 rounds before detonating? I.e. can you (safely) hold it for a couple rounds before throwing, so your foe doesn't have a chance to move away?
Does it go off at the beginning or end of your turn? Let's say I've rolled a '1' on my fuse (or I rolled a 2 and held it for a round, or a 3 and held it for two rounds). Do I have to throw it this turn or risk having my fingers blown off? Can I throw it next turn before it explodes, but without letting anyone else react?
What if I ready an action (or delay), so that I act before the time my next turn would have started?
I'd say that the answer is B to me too (toss it and wait for it to explode). As for knowing how long it'll take to go off, the answer is "You don't." With these devices you take your chances!

Ross Byers RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32 |

Since the minimum duration is '1 round', does that mean the beginning or end of my next turn?
I'm trying to figure out if there is any strategy that doesn't allow the enemy a chance to run away from (or worse, throw back) the grenade. Even if it only works when I roll a '1'.
If it goes off at the end of my turn, I can activate it one round and throw it the next. It only has a 1-in-3 chance of actually detonating, but at least that's a chance of catching my foe in-place.
If it goes off at the beginning of my turn, then I can still do that using the Delay action (but only if I rolled a 2 or 3 - if I rolled a 1 and don't spend my standard action to throw after using my move to light it, it'll go off in my hand.) I could use a Readied action to throw, but once again, risk of hand-loss if the trigger condition isn't met.
Hrmm, is 'just before my next turn' an acceptable readied-action trigger?