Damiel and Jack Scrimshaw


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

51 to 56 of 56 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

1 person marked this as a favorite.
jones314 wrote:

Right on 1 and 2. For 3, only other cards that say "add the x trait" actually add that trait. So if you play a blessing on a check, you don't get to add Divine. 4 I think is right, not sure.

So I should rephrase this way :

3) The added traits are added from both cards/powers played during the "determine the skill to be used" step (in which case ANY traits present on the card that determines the skill to be used is automatically added to the check) and from cards/powers played during the "affect the check" step (in which case ONLY traits that are clearly stated as to be added are, not all traits present on the cards). This is done in order of cards/powers played, meaning you can potentially add a trait that lets you play another card/power that adds more traits, and so on.

Am I fully right now?

If so maybe in a future version of the rules the difference in the way to add traits between the "determine the skill to be used" step and the "affect the check" step should be make clearer in the respective paragraphs of the rules . IMHO.


Pretty much. If a power says to add a trait, whether it is a character power or a power on a card, you always add the trait. The traits of the card itself (list near the upper left corner of the card) are only added if you play that card during "Determine Which Skill You're Using", which so far I think is limited to "For your combat" cards, the Mattock, and the Arcane Robes. But I purposefully haven't looked at every card in S&S yet, and I might be forgetting something from RotR.


Frencois wrote:


3) The added traits are added from both cards/powers played during the "determine the skill to be used" step (in which case ANY traits present on the card that determines the skill to be used is automatically added to the check) and from cards/powers played during the "affect the check" step (in which case ONLY traits that are clearly stated as to be added are, not all traits present on the cards). This is done in order of cards/powers played, meaning you can potentially add a trait that lets you play another card/power that adds more traits, and so on.

Ahhh ok, that makes things much clearer. Thanks for typing that up.


You are welcome.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

See FAQ.

51 to 56 of 56 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Damiel and Jack Scrimshaw All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion