| RealAlchemy |
I encountered a situation the other day where rules as written appeared to contradict common sense. A ninja NPC was tripped, so he stood up (move action) used vanishing trick (standard action) and then took a 5 foot shift. Therefore he had to be within 5 feet of his original square, so logically I concluded a 5 foot radius burst spell (faerie fire) would strike him. This is the point where I found out burst radius spells are targeted on the point between four squares, so a 5 foot burst only covers four squares which means it is possible to miss the target even when I have it localized within 5 feet. Can someone explain the rationale behind this, since I have trouble wrapping my head around the logic?
Jiggy
RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32
|
I encountered a situation the other day where rules as written appeared to contradict common sense. A ninja NPC was tripped, so he stood up (move action) used vanishing trick (standard action) and then took a 5 foot shift. Therefore he had to be within 5 feet of his original square, so logically I concluded a 5 foot radius burst spell (faerie fire) would strike him. This is the point where I found out burst radius spells are targeted on the point between four squares, so a 5 foot burst only covers four squares which means it is possible to miss the target even when I have it localized within 5 feet. Can someone explain the rationale behind this, since I have trouble wrapping my head around the logic?
Pretend for a moment that you don't know which direction he went with his 5ft step. Now plot out all the different squares he could be in. You now have a ring of 8 squares (the 9th square being in the center of the ring, where he started).
What's the diameter of that area?
It's 15 feet.
What's the diameter of a 5ft-radius spell?
That would be 10 feet.
As you can now see, the area you're trying to land your spell in is substantially bigger than the area you can cover.
You're trying to use a 2square by 2square spell to cover a 3square by 3square area. Of course there's a chance of "missing".
Does that help?
| Jeraa |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
As a side note; doesn't standing up count as moving? So a person couldn't stand and take a 5 foot shift in the same round.
You can't use a 5-foot step in a round where you move - that is, go from 1 square to another.
Standing up isn't movement - it is a move action. Those are different things. Not all move actions are movement.
| Barathos |
As a side note; doesn't standing up count as moving? So a person couldn't stand and take a 5 foot shift in the same round.
It's a Move Action but it isn't the same as a Move Action used to Move.
Chart showing a Move Action and Move as being different things
That Crazy Alchemist
|
Dont you have to pick the cross hair (square corners, basically) on the map for bursts? So you'd let the enemy pick on of the 4 cross hairs of the square the ninja used to be in. Given that he may or may not hit the ninja.
Is that right?
Yes, it is for this reason that the ninja should move diagonally instead of cardinally that way he has a 25% chance of being hit instead of a 50% chance.
| Calth |
RealAlchemy wrote:I encountered a situation the other day where rules as written appeared to contradict common sense. A ninja NPC was tripped, so he stood up (move action) used vanishing trick (standard action) and then took a 5 foot shift. Therefore he had to be within 5 feet of his original square, so logically I concluded a 5 foot radius burst spell (faerie fire) would strike him. This is the point where I found out burst radius spells are targeted on the point between four squares, so a 5 foot burst only covers four squares which means it is possible to miss the target even when I have it localized within 5 feet. Can someone explain the rationale behind this, since I have trouble wrapping my head around the logic?Pretend for a moment that you don't know which direction he went with his 5ft step. Now plot out all the different squares he could be in. You now have a ring of 8 squares (the 9th square being in the center of the ring, where he started).
What's the diameter of that area?
It's 15 feet.
What's the diameter of a 5ft-radius spell?
That would be 10 feet.
As you can now see, the area you're trying to land your spell in is substantially bigger than the area you can cover.
You're trying to use a 2square by 2square spell to cover a 3square by 3square area. Of course there's a chance of "missing".
Does that help?
To be fair, that's due to the battle grid system pathfinder uses. Since the game doesn't localize position any more than a square, a "5 foot step" is anywhere from 1 inch to just over 14 feet (going the diagonal). If you were playing a more narrative based game a 5 foot burst centered on where the character was would catch any possible 5 foot step. Basically, due to the abstractions of the game system, a "5 Foot Step" action is not a 5 foot movement.
The treatment of bursts also leads to some really wonky interactions with 5 foot debuff/damage auras. Like the abyssal bloodragers 5 ft fire aura, which by RAW the bloodrager cannot possibly avoid and therefore takes fire damage himself every turn he has it active (since the damage outpaces his fire resistance).
Jiggy
RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32
|
If you were playing a more narrative based game a 5 foot burst centered on where the character was would catch any possible 5 foot step.
Only if the ninja is a zero-dimensional point in space and travels exactly 5ft and 0 inches and the spell is targeted exactly on the ninja's starting point without even a fraction of an inch of variance.
Yeah, that sounds a lot more "narrative" than Pathfinder's abstractions.
| Calth |
Calth wrote:If you were playing a more narrative based game a 5 foot burst centered on where the character was would catch any possible 5 foot step.Only if the ninja is a zero-dimensional point in space and travels exactly 5ft and 0 inches and the spell is targeted exactly on the ninja's starting point without even a fraction of an inch of variance.
Yeah, that sounds a lot more "narrative" than Pathfinder's abstractions.
Yes, I would assume that an ability called a five foot step is actually about a 5 foot movement in a narrative system. And the fact that the target has a larger than zero volume helps my point, not hurts it. Cause you know that actually corrects for any slight errors in targeting that you seem so offended by.
| bbangerter |
Komoda wrote:No, it is a swift action and swift actions do not provoke.That, as it were, is a whole different discussion.
However, it is answered by the ability itself, which is SU, and those do not usually provoke.
Then again, it says "This ability functions as invisibility." which does provoke.
Functions as X is an entirely different thing than casts as X.