Charge attack vs illusion (Silent Image)


Rules Questions


One barbarian PC charge attacks a Silent Image.

The silent image is a mimic of the Bard who cast it. The bard cast it while concealed, and had it advance into the open.

The Barbarian saw it, and has not interacted with it. So the barbarian charge attacks it, thinking it is a squishy Bard. DC17 to realize that it is not, but here is the real question:

Does the Barbarian fall over according to the rules?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Why would the barbarian fall over ? You haven't mentioned anything about any sort of trip hazard along the charge path. The *ONLY* possible way I can think of that *MIGHT* cause the barbarian to fall over is if he attempted to TRIP the illusion (without a trip weapon) and blew his roll by enough to trip himself. I'm not even certain that would happen, as I wouldn't know how to assign a CMD to the illusion of a bard.


He reached the illusion right at the end of the charge.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Just because he charges the illusion does not mean he rugby-tackles it. He just uses the momentum of his run for his swing.

There is neither a RAW nor a "common sense" reason for him to fall over.

Sovereign Court

As others have said - 'No!'.

Dark Archive

Nope, Barbarian is still standing. Would be no different than if the barbarian charged a regular creature and missed.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber

only if it's funny and doesn't put the barbarian in any actual harm.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

...Is this thread for real?


Jiggy wrote:
...Is this thread for real?

Charges Jiggy

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Fergie wrote:
Jiggy wrote:
...Is this thread for real?
Charges Jiggy

*watches from invisibility as Fergie pops through the image and then inexplicably collapses*


1 person marked this as a favorite.

*Lets go of tripwire hidden in the Jiggylusion*


I don't think it's entirely unreasonable for a person to fall over after they charge through something they didn't expect.

My common sense tells me that the reason why charging characters don't fall over is because the charging character relies on their target's inertia to stop the charging character.

That said, I do acknolwedge nothing in the core rules supports my common sense. I'm just saying it's not an entirely unreasonable thing for a given player / GM to expect, especially for those without an encyclopedic knowledge of the core rules.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

No, it's pretty unreasonable for a player to expect that the GM will declare that their character spontaneously falls over for the equivalent of missing with an attack. It's not unreasonable for the idea to occur to you, but it's unreasonable to think anyone would ever see it coming or not be shocked/confused.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
voideternal wrote:

I don't think it's entirely unreasonable for a person to fall over after they charge through something they didn't expect.

My common sense tells me that the reason why charging characters don't fall over is because the charging character relies on their target's inertia to stop the charging character.

That said, I do acknolwedge nothing in the core rules supports my common sense. I'm just saying it's not an entirely unreasonable thing for a given player / GM to expect, especially for those without an encyclopedic knowledge of the core rules.

Sounds like more of a Bull Rush than a charge attack to me. Charging converts momentum into your attack. Someone side-stepping or missing doesn't change that; you just swing and wiff.

Bull Rushing is much more likely to try to move into someone and the weight not being there could totally put you off balance. Enough to fall? I don't think so, unless you weren't planning on moving with the target. Maybe then. But no rules to back that up.


Jiggy wrote:
No, it's pretty unreasonable for a player to expect that the GM will declare that their character spontaneously falls over for the equivalent of missing with an attack.

I was under the impression that missing with an attack doesn't necessarily mean that the enemy dodges your attack, since AC includes armor, shield, deflection, and natural armor bonus.

Sovereign Court

voideternal wrote:
Jiggy wrote:
No, it's pretty unreasonable for a player to expect that the GM will declare that their character spontaneously falls over for the equivalent of missing with an attack.
I was under the impression that missing with an attack doesn't necessarily mean that the enemy dodges your attack, since AC includes armor, shield, deflection, and natural armor bonus.

Not necessarily. But it also doesn't necessarily mean that they DIDN'T dodge. If you made it a rule - you'd have to make it so that anytime someone on a charge missed their target's touch AC they fell over. That'd be dumb.


Charon's Little Helper wrote:
Not necessarily. But it also doesn't necessarily mean that they DIDN'T dodge. If you made it a rule - you'd have to make it so that anytime someone on a charge missed their target's touch AC they fell over. That'd be dumb.

Yes, it would be dumb. It would be a bad rule from the point of view of Game balance and design.

But it would be realistic. If my gut instinct is correct, I believe the OP asked his question because the OP believed the barbarian falling over after charging an illusion is realistic, and the OP wanted confirmation that there was a rule to back him up.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.
voideternal wrote:
But it would be realistic.

Not really. I've done my share of martial arts etc It might put you off balance for a split second, (and it does get you a -2 to AC) but it certainly wouldn't make you fall over.


Charon's Little Helper wrote:
Not really. I've done my share of martial arts etc It might put you off balance for a split second, (and it does get you a -2 to AC) but it certainly wouldn't make you fall over.

Were you swinging 8lb Greatswords as part of your martial arts?

Even if you were, do you think a blanket claim such as "All charging actions have no risk of falling over." would be realistic?

Edit: Let me clarify. I agree with posters in this thread that say the Barbarian should not fall over. I'm simply saying it is understandable for a player to ask whether a rule exists for falling over after a failed charge.

Sovereign Court

voideternal wrote:
Charon's Little Helper wrote:
Not really. I've done my share of martial arts etc It might put you off balance for a split second, (and it does get you a -2 to AC) but it certainly wouldn't make you fall over.

Were you swinging 8lb Greatswords as part of your martial arts?

Even if you were, do you think a blanket claim such as "All charging actions have no risk of falling over." would be realistic?

I have swung one - though not as part of my martial arts training. That only encompassed a one-handed broadsword, and during my stint in the SCA - rattan sword stand-ins. Nonetheless - it's safe to say that anyone who is trained would have no significant chance of tripping due to a missed blow. (Far less so than someone doing the plethora of other Pathfinder things which have no chance of such.) A charge melee attack is not a football tackle.

Dark Archive

Applying real world physics to this game has always been a very very bad idea. Remember that this is a game, not a real life simulation. Best to stick with the rules, that way everyone at the table walks away happy, not just the GM.

Sczarni

Was the Barbarian charging downhill?

Because that does require an Acrobatics check.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

How the hell would it be realistic? People don't spontaneously fall over at the end of a sprint.

Certainly you make charges in Kendo all the time, which is about as close as you can get to a swordfighting simulation in real life. You never, ever, ever fall over. If you did you would be a free kill every time you misjudged a charge, which would make them a really stupid idea. In my 10+ years I have never seen even a total rookie fall over from a misjudged charge or swing of any kind. You are much more likely to lose the weapon from poor balance than fall over yourself.

It's also stupid from a game balance perspective because suddenly noone will ever charge, but instead walk gingerly towards your opponent and attack. It's punishing martial players because you have this idea it's 'realistic'. Making poor rules judgements because of an overly sensitive sense of 'realism' is up there with GMPCs for bad DMing 101.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

We should get Jason Buhlman to try charging thin air and base a new ruling on that.


Blakmane wrote:
How the hell would it be realistic? People don't spontaneously fall over at the end of a sprint.

Yes, sprinters generally don't fall over. But sprinters also don't sprint expecting to use their momentum to smash a weapon into something.

Blakmane wrote:
Certainly you make charges in Kendo all the time, which is about as close as you can get to a swordfighting simulation in real life. You never, ever, ever fall over.

Charging in pathfinder requires at least 10 feet, but for most characters can span up to 40 feet or 60 feet in the span of 6 seconds. I don't think you run that fast and far in Kendo, and I don't think Kendo weapons and armor are as heavy as the ones in Pathfinder.

Pathfinder is a game that requires the GM and players to agree on some level of common sense. On the other hand, Pathfinder also requires the GM and players to abandon common sense and physics for some of its rules. Common sense is also different for every person.

I wouldn't be surprised if a Pathfinder group looked at the full-round action "Charge" and imagined a rugby-tackle. I, for one, imagined that myself.
I wouldn't be surprised if a Pathfinder group didn't have a martial arts expert to give a real-world point of view on the risks of charging. In my group, none of my players have swung an 8lb Greatsword, and none of my players have had the real-world experience of running full force holding an 8lb weapon and swinging into an illusion.

Also, let me add that it's not a trivial task for a new player to find the lack of a rule, such as "you fall over if you fail your charge". For a new player to find that, the player has to read through all of the core rulebook, combat, additional rules, glossary, etc. because proving that the rule doesn't exist is essentially the devil's proof. Additionally, not all tables use electronic devices to assist in finding rules. And some people have really, really weak search-fu.

Thus, I'm not surprised that the OP asked this question, and I think it's a reasonable question to ask, given the number of players who play Pathfinder.


If you're the GM make the rules. I would work it that the Barb doesn't fall over but they do pass through the illusion by a couple of squares.


Blakmane wrote:

How the hell would it be realistic? People don't spontaneously fall over at the end of a sprint.

Certainly you make charges in Kendo all the time, which is about as close as you can get to a swordfighting simulation in real life. You never, ever, ever fall over. If you did you would be a free kill every time you misjudged a charge, which would make them a really stupid idea. In my 10+ years I have never seen even a total rookie fall over from a misjudged charge or swing of any kind. You are much more likely to lose the weapon from poor balance than fall over yourself.

It's also stupid from a game balance perspective because suddenly noone will ever charge, but instead walk gingerly towards your opponent and attack. It's punishing martial players because you have this idea it's 'realistic'. Making poor rules judgements because of an overly sensitive sense of 'realism' is up there with GMPCs for bad DMing 101.

Out of curiosity, in your 10+ years, how many times has one of those rookies swung his weapon THROUGH an opponent that was in front of him and clearly lined up for the hit?

Just sayin'.

Teach. Guide. Train. There is no need to ridicule.


Kalridian wrote:

Just because he charges the illusion does not mean he rugby-tackles it. He just uses the momentum of his run for his swing.

There is neither a RAW nor a "common sense" reason for him to fall over.

That's what I thought, but I wanted to be sure. I've mistaken simple rules in the past.


Komoda wrote:


Out of curiosity, in your 10+ years, how many times has one of those rookies swung his weapon THROUGH an opponent that was in front of him and clearly lined up for the hit?

Plenty of times, actually. A fit, expert competitor can dodge from neutral faster than a rookie in downswing can react.


Not being able to react is completely different than swinging THROUGH an object.


They're completely the same. The opponent expects resistance on the downswing and encounters none.


No. Your brain can see and understand a target that moves out of the way faster than the body can react, but the miss is still expected and compensated for, at least to some degree.

When the object is still there but completely insubstantial, I would have to say that is another beast all together.


Must have been an identical thread I posted this in last. Short answer, you stop at the end of a charge before attacking. Long answer, it only makes sense if you stop before attacking. If you're not bullrushing (and moving with them) then you never enter the opponent's space. Move, stop, slash (or whatever). You might overswing but that has no rules meaning. Either way, by common sense and the rules, you stop before making the attack. No weapon and attack method besides perhaps the flying dropkick (which I don't think we have a model for in Pathfinder) should rely on hitting an opponent to stop (and if it does, then you should be forced to move on a miss).

And just to make this very clear, the world described by Pathfinder is not the real world. It is loosely based on the real world except where it has other rules. One of those other rules is that there are no consequences for a missed attack except that it misses. You don't provoke an AoO for rolling a 1 on an attack roll. You don't lose your grip on your weapon no matter how long you swing it unless something says otherwise (like grease). The real world, you'll find, has different rules for this.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Charge attack vs illusion (Silent Image) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions