What does the Sacred Spring do?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

51 to 58 of 58 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
bbKabag wrote:
Joshua Birk 898 wrote:
Vic, does discarding from the blessing deck work the same way?

Is there a card right now that does not indicate that you discard the blessing from the blessing deck into the Blessings discard pile?

Skull & Shackles Rulebook wrote:
Advance the Blessings Deck: At the start of your turn, flip the top card from the blessings deck faceup onto the top of the blessings discard pile. You never acquire this blessing, though some cards may refer to it during your turn.
I'd have to point out that you never get them. So maybe we have to change that?

When you discard a card from the blessings deck, it goes into the blessings discard pile unless we say otherwise.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Orbis Orboros wrote:
Vic Wertz wrote:
Firedale2002 wrote:

Recharge is already defined in the book:

Rules wrote:
Recharge: Put it facedown at the bottom of your character deck.

So the cards go under your character deck.

Pretty much, what the spring does is it takes away time (removes blessings from the blessing deck) but 'heals' the character using it (puts cards into the character deck). Think of it as the person spending a bit of time soaking in the springs to get rejuvenated.

^ That.
So, and this is extrapolation that may therefore be incorrect, if you wanted them to go to the bottom of the Blessings Discard Pile, you would specifically spell it out and avoid using the word "recharge?"

I suspect you intended to say "to the bottom of the blessings deck". If we wanted to do that, we would say: "On closing, you may banish a card to put 1d6 random cards from the blessings discard pile on the bottom of the blessings deck."

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

elcoderdude wrote:
Vic Wertz wrote:
Firedale2002 wrote:

Recharge is already defined in the book:

Rules wrote:
Recharge: Put it facedown at the bottom of your character deck.

So the cards go under your character deck.

Pretty much, what the spring does is it takes away time (removes blessings from the blessing deck) but 'heals' the character using it (puts cards into the character deck). Think of it as the person spending a bit of time soaking in the springs to get rejuvenated.

^ That.
Except, it doesn't take time away from the blessings deck. The cards come from the blessings discard pile. And, I am surprised to learn, go into the character's deck.

Fair point.


Vic Wertz wrote:
Orbis Orboros wrote:
Vic Wertz wrote:
Firedale2002 wrote:

Recharge is already defined in the book:

Rules wrote:
Recharge: Put it facedown at the bottom of your character deck.

So the cards go under your character deck.

Pretty much, what the spring does is it takes away time (removes blessings from the blessing deck) but 'heals' the character using it (puts cards into the character deck). Think of it as the person spending a bit of time soaking in the springs to get rejuvenated.

^ That.
So, and this is extrapolation that may therefore be incorrect, if you wanted them to go to the bottom of the Blessings Discard Pile, you would specifically spell it out and avoid using the word "recharge?"
I suspect you intended to say "to the bottom of the blessings deck". If we wanted to do that, we would say: "On closing, you may banish a card to put 1d6 random cards from the blessings discard pile on the bottom of the blessings deck."

Derp. Yes, I did.


bbKabag wrote:
I'd have to point out that you never get them. So maybe we have to change that?

Actually after all this nice discussion - and thanks Vic for the numerous clarification - it seems to me there is no need for a FAQ PROVIDING the stated rule implicitely means (italics added by me) :

Skull & Shackles Rulebook wrote:
Advance the Blessings Deck: At the start of your turn, flip the top card from the blessings deck faceup onto the top of the blessings discard pile. You never acquire this blessing at the time of flipping it, though some cards or power may refer to it (i. e. the card now at the top of the blessings discard pile) during your turn or allow you to manipulate that card later, when in the blessing discard pile.

This limits the impact of the "never" so it becomes compatible with the way the Spring is intended to work.


Keep in mind, "acquire" is a specific game term. There are already ways to "get a card" without acquiring a card. So the rulebook isn't wrong that you never acquire them, because it means "acquire" in the sense of attempting a check to acquire or being directed to specifically "acquire" the card.


Hawkmoon269 wrote:
Keep in mind, "acquire" is a specific game term. There are already ways to "get a card" without acquiring a card. So the rulebook isn't wrong that you never acquire them, because it means "acquire" in the sense of attempting a check to acquire or being directed to specifically "acquire" the card.

That too. As usual, Hawk's right.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Yep. Recharging is not acquiring.

51 to 58 of 58 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / What does the Sacred Spring do? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion