Provoking Attacks of Opportunity while partially concealed?


Rules Questions


When you don't have total concealment, do you still provoke attacks of opportunity by moving, putting something away, whatever would normally provoke? Like if you're in Obscuring Mist (20% miss chance), and you move through or leave squares that an opponent would normally threaten and gain an AoO from?

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
PRD wrote:
You can't execute an attack of opportunity against an opponent with total concealment, even if you know what square or squares the opponent occupies.

Nothing about normal concealment there, so it don't protect you from AoO.

And it is better that way. you really want wizards to avoid all AoO simply because they have cast blur?


Diego Rossi wrote:
PRD wrote:
You can't execute an attack of opportunity against an opponent with total concealment, even if you know what square or squares the opponent occupies.

Nothing about normal concealment there, so it don't protect you from AoO.

And it is better that way. you really want wizards to avoid all AoO simply because they have cast blur?

Blur is a magical effect, not concealment.

Still, Fog Cloud can result in major shenanigans.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
CommandoDude wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:
PRD wrote:
You can't execute an attack of opportunity against an opponent with total concealment, even if you know what square or squares the opponent occupies.

Nothing about normal concealment there, so it don't protect you from AoO.

And it is better that way. you really want wizards to avoid all AoO simply because they have cast blur?

Blur is a magical effect, not concealment.

Still, Fog Cloud can result in major shenanigans.

PRD wrote:

Blur

...
The subject's outline appears blurred, shifting, and wavering. This distortion grants the subject concealment (20% miss chance).


Thanks a ton for clearing it up, folks. We had issues with it, because even the smallest amount of cover prevents AoOs, and we wanted to be sure whether it was the same or different with concealment.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Provoking Attacks of Opportunity while partially concealed? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.