
PapaZorro |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
I've heard tell that if you're holding the charge on a spell (like my Kensai whip-using frostbite build will) you can still use a wand or a scroll or something like that without losing the charge. Can someone please break it down for me, I've read through and it would seem to me using any of these items would cause you to lose your charge.

Paulicus |

IIRC, items that you're holding when the spell is cast don't trigger the spell. So, if you cast a spell while holding a wand/scroll in the other hand, you could cast the spell with the charge.
However, in general casting a spell while holding a charge discharges the held spell. So a scroll wouldn't work, though I'm not sure about a wand.
For a magus it'd be even harder, since you need a free hand to use spell combat. If you were using a natural weapon or had the tail trait to hold a wand, it might work.

![]() |

The reason why this works is spelled out in the core rulebooks + faq update.
First the core rule
Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates.
Now the FAQ update
Items as Spells: Does using a potion, scroll, staff, or wand count as "casting a spell" for purposes of feats and special abilities like Augment Summoning, Spell Focus, an evoker's ability to do extra damage with evocation spells, bloodline abilities, and so on?No. Unless they specifically state otherwise, feats and abilities that modify spells you cast only affect actual spellcasting, not using magic items that emulate spellcasting or work like spellcasting.
By the rules if you use a spell in a bottle item like a scroll, potion, wand, spellscar, etc. it is NOT "casting a spell" allowing you to have multiple touch spells running at once.

Paladin of Baha-who? |

That FAQ doesn't address this issue. It addresses whether rider effects that trigger on "when you cast a spell" do so as well when you use a scroll or wand.
I don't think the dissapation of a held charge works in the same way. How would you determine what spell discharges when you make a touch attack if you were holding two charges? Would both discharge? If you can do this with two spells, why not an arbitrary number? Use all 50 charges of a shocking grasp wand to do 50d6 with a single touch attack! (Only takes 5 minutes of casting to build up the held charges!) That can't be the intended function of the rules.

![]() |

That FAQ doesn't address this issue. It addresses whether rider effects that trigger on "when you cast a spell" do so as well when you use a scroll or wand.
I don't think the dissapation of a held charge works in the same way. How would you determine what spell discharges when you make a touch attack if you were holding two charges? Would both discharge? If you can do this with two spells, why not an arbitrary number? Use all 50 charges of a shocking grasp wand to do 50d6 with a single touch attack! (Only takes 5 minutes of casting to build up the held charges!) That can't be the intended function of the rules.
No, you are putting conditions on the faq that aren't there.
It specifically states using any of these items is not spellcasting for these purposes or any other. That's why the question has the
and so on
line.
For every purpose you want to add onto it using a scroll does not count as casting a spell. They made it as broadly defined as possible and threw every single thing that could be affected by casting a spell on the list AND added and so on to indicate that other options that call on the "cast a spell" language was included.
Here's the important line to pay attention to:
not using magic items that emulate spellcasting or work like spellcasting
Magic items EMULATE or WORK LIKE spellcasting but are not actual spellcasting. Only casting a spell dissipates charges. Heck for awhile there SKR was advocating that having multiple touch spells active were a valid and normal part of the game. It was in his ask thread so not worth digging up for a rules debate but indicative of how at least some of the paizo employees play the game.

![]() |
I think everyone is forgetting that if you touch another object, any held charge is automatically discharged.
Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.
I would think that a scroll or a wand counts as "anything".

![]() |

Scrolls you can use at anytime that you don't have to see or touch and best of all they don't even have to be magus spells. You can actually throw on Divine spells too.I think everyone is forgetting that if you touch another object, any held charge is automatically discharged.
PRD wrote:Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.I would think that a scroll or a wand counts as "anything".

![]() |
isdestroyer wrote:Scrolls you can use at anytime that you don't have to see or touch and best of all they don't even have to be magus spells. You can actually throw on Divine spells too.I think everyone is forgetting that if you touch another object, any held charge is automatically discharged.
PRD wrote:Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.I would think that a scroll or a wand counts as "anything".
Ah, well that would do it. I feel though that the whole 'casting another spell' issue is still a bit fuzzy, as the rules can be interpreted either way, I think.
@PapaZorro: Yes, but that only lasts for a limited time. Plus, as I mentioned above, the casting of another spell thing is still debatable. Also, even with that spell, you're still casting from a wand, which requires a certain arcana to use with spellstrike, if that's what you're going for.

![]() |

@papazorro
You can have only one active charge per spell. If you cast another spell again, the former charge dissipates. This has all been quoted above by previous posters and even you suspect that I presume.
The FAQ that Mathwei posted does not enable you to cast and keep additional spells while having active charge. FAQ explains that characters with spell-casting feats or abilities do not gain those benefits on spells cast from stored items (wands, scrolls, potions) and pretty much nothing else otherwise like Baha-who said, you have a level 1 wizard walking with 50d6 shocking grasp charges on a single hand.
That's at least how I believe it works. You can always ask GM in home games to insert a houserule of some sort or you could check if some spell or archetype changes rule.
Adam

![]() |

Quote:You can actually throw on Divine spells too.How does that work?
Same way you make any other magic item, you have someone with the spell needed help you.
Get yourself a divine caster to assist while scribing the scar (or get a scroll of the spell and use that to provide the spell you need) and get started tattooing. Now when you decide to cast them if it's not on your spell list you'll need to make a UMD check to cast it but that's easily done if you put some effort into it.@Malag, I've quoted the text and DEV clarification supporting my stance, if you wish to continue stating I am incorrect I would love to see what rules text or DEV post you are using to justify that position.