
gossamar4 |

I can't seem to find answers to these questions, thought I would see what the consensus here would be:
1. does a qinggong monk's choice of a spell, give him/her the ability to use a wand of that spell w/o requiring a UMD check?
example = qinggong replaces slow fall with true strike, can the monk now use a wand of true strike w/o needing a UMD check?
2. Is casting time for the ki ability the same as the spell?
example = true strike has a casting time of 1 standard action, does it still take 1 standard action & 1 ki to "prepare" true strike for the next attack? or does it work like a potion, instantly, but instead of drinking a potion, the monk is using a ki point (swift action)?
Thank you in advance for your responses.

Calth |
I can't seem to find answers to these questions, thought I would see what the consensus here would be:
1. does a qinggong monk's choice of a spell, give him/her the ability to use a wand of that spell w/o requiring a UMD check?
example = qinggong replaces slow fall with true strike, can the monk now use a wand of true strike w/o needing a UMD check?
2. Is casting time for the ki ability the same as the spell?
example = true strike has a casting time of 1 standard action, does it still take 1 standard action & 1 ki to "prepare" true strike for the next attack? or does it work like a potion, instantly, but instead of drinking a potion, the monk is using a ki point (swift action)?
Thank you in advance for your responses.
1.) No, Qinggong monks get spells as spell-like abilities, which cannot be used to activate spell completion or trigger(wands) devices per the Core Rulebook FAQ.
Spell-Like Abilities as Spells: Does a creature with a spell-like ability count as having that spell on its spell list for the purpose of activating spell completion or spell trigger items?
No. A spell-like ability is not a spell, having a spell-like ability is not part of a class's spell list, and therefore doesn't give the creature the ability to activate spell completion or spell trigger items.
2.) Using a spell-like ability is a standard action unless noted.

![]() |

I can't seem to find answers to these questions, thought I would see what the consensus here would be:
1. does a qinggong monk's choice of a spell, give him/her the ability to use a wand of that spell w/o requiring a UMD check?
example = qinggong replaces slow fall with true strike, can the monk now use a wand of true strike w/o needing a UMD check?
2. Is casting time for the ki ability the same as the spell?
example = true strike has a casting time of 1 standard action, does it still take 1 standard action & 1 ki to "prepare" true strike for the next attack? or does it work like a potion, instantly, but instead of drinking a potion, the monk is using a ki point (swift action)?
Thank you in advance for your responses.
1. Sadly, No it does not. It just gives you the Spell-Like Ability of that Spell.
2. Generally they're a Standard action unless otherwise noted. Always look at the SPA to see if it lists it, otherwise refer to the general preset of rules/description before the list of Ki Powers. All of it should be covered.
Thankfully, at least your Qinggong Monk levels count as Caster Levels. It'd be painful if they didn't, considering there are a few SPAs that required a higher caster level to ever grow stronger.