Narrow Frame question


Rules Questions


I have a question about Narrow Frame, for my large-sized animal companion.
Does this allow him to stand beside me in a 10 foot hallway?
I assume it DOES, but the question is more about how it affects me.
It specifies that HE won't get the -4s if squeezing into a 5ft area, but would I?

If the hallway was 5ft wide, he could fit into it without squeezing.
If I'm standing in a 10ft hallway, the AVAILABLE space for him to go is only 5ft. Does he fit into this 5ft area (and so doesn't affect me)?

Thanks,
- Dreamer

Grand Lodge

I believe this is what you're looking for.

prd wrote:

Squeezing: In some cases, you may have to squeeze into or through an area that isn't as wide as the space you take up. You can squeeze through or into a space that is at least half as wide as your normal space. Each move into or through a narrow space counts as if it were 2 squares, and while squeezed in a narrow space, you take a –4 penalty on attack rolls and a –4 penalty to AC.

When a Large creature (which normally takes up 4 squares) squeezes into a space that's 1 square wide, the creature's miniature figure occupies 2 squares, centered on the line between the 2 squares. For a bigger creature, center the creature likewise in the area it squeezes into.

A creature can squeeze past a creature while moving but it can't end its movement in an occupied square.

To squeeze through or into a space less than half your space's width, you must use the Escape Artist skill. You can't attack while using Escape Artist to squeeze through or into a narrow space, you take a –4 penalty to AC, and you lose any Dexterity bonus to AC.

He's not actually in the space that your PC is in. He's beside you.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yes, it shouldn't effect you at all. It's interesting to note that your horse could already have done this, but he'd be eating up some steep penalties for doing so without that feat.


Sweet, that IS what I'm looking for.
Except this part is odd:
"A creature can squeeze past a creature while moving but it can't end its movement in an occupied square."

Does this mean you can't fight side-by-side? Or because of the feat they're not considered squeezing so it's ok?

- Dreamer

Grand Lodge

Dreamer3333 wrote:

Sweet, that IS what I'm looking for.

Except this part is odd:
"A creature can squeeze past a creature while moving but it can't end its movement in an occupied square."

Does this mean you can't fight side-by-side? Or because of the feat they're not considered squeezing so it's ok?

- Dreamer

As in if you and I are in a hall that's 5' wide. If you stop in front of me, on my turn I can walk through your square and continue walking down the hall by "squeezing past" you. I just can't end my turn in the same square that you (or anyone else) are in. You can fight side-by-side as long as you're in adjacent squares.

In summary, when it says "squeeze past" it only means the same square. If your mount/animal companion/whatever just happens to be squeezing in squares that are adjacent to you that's fine.


Ya, that makes sense. So that part doesn't apply to a 10ft hall (you can stop there even w/o the feat) because even squeezing means you take up the 5x10 beside the friendly creature.

That's why even without the feat, being adjacent in a 10ft hallway wouldn't affect me because he's the one squeezing (as long as it's 10 ft wide) - he takes the -4s not me.

Thanks!
- Dreamer

Grand Lodge

Dreamer3333 wrote:

Ya, that makes sense. So that part doesn't apply to a 10ft hall (you can stop there even w/o the feat) because even squeezing means you take up the 5x10 beside the friendly creature.

That's why even without the feat, being adjacent in a 10ft hallway wouldn't affect me because he's the one squeezing (as long as it's 10 ft wide) - he takes the -4s not me.

Thanks!
- Dreamer

Yeah, that's it exactly

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Narrow Frame question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.