
Rikkan |
Jiggy wrote:
Rikkan wrote:Magda Luckbender wrote:@ancientdm : Sounds like you are a bit confused about Bit of Luck. Bit of Luck requires a Standard Action to use, it takes effect immediately, and runs out at the start of your next turn. That means it's nearly pointless to use on yourself: after using it you have no actions remaining with which to attack.You're mistaken. Bit of Luck works is in effect for the next round. In a round all creatures have a chance to take a turn. So you'd gain the effect when the next round starts and it lasts 'till that round ends.The actual rules wrote:Effects that last a certain number of rounds end just before the same initiative count that they began on.Unless you want to argue that "for the next round" doesn't count as lasting a certain number of rounds...?
It will argue that, yes. For the next round is a very specifically different from the it lasts x amount of rounds.

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Rikkan wrote:
No, normally it is only in effect in for the next round, as the ability itself states.
"For the next round" => 1 round duration => ends just before the initiative that it was started on, which means the person who activated it doesn't get its benefits on their next turn.
(I'm not saying this doesn't suck. For many abilities it is quite annoying, and it leads to otherwise minimally-useful abilities being exploited when coupled with quicken spell-like and such. But it is what it is.)