
Castarr4 |

When you play a weapon that has the Firearm trait, if you would bury it or shuffle it into your deck, you may keep it and instead perform the requested action with another card.
For your combat check....you may additionally bury this card to add another 1d10. If you did not bury this card, roll 1d6, or 1d12 if you are proficient with weapons; on 1-2, shuffle this card into your deck.
As Lirianne using a musket, what happens when I choose to get the additional 1d10 by burying a different card? I didn't actually bury the musket, so does the "If you did not bury this card" power happen?
Or did burying my other card count as burying the musket for the purposes of avoiding the shuffle chance?

Yewstance |

Burying the other card counts as burying the musket.
...5 YEARS LATER...
For the record, I'm not convinced this is true, RAW. If a card besides the firearm is buried (even if it is for the firearm's power), then the firearm was - by definition - not buried. In fact, it never left your hand.
Whether that's the rules as intended is another matter, and I think is still an interesting discussion now. It does seem to make Gunslingers (and ammo cards like Alchemical Cartridges) worse if you can use them to avoid losing your weapon when burying it... and then lose the weapon anyway by rolling a 1.