Instant Armor and Buckler Gun


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Since the buckler gun can be used as a weapon, can Instant Armor still be used to avoid burying the card?

The text on Instant Armor states, "When armor is played on any check, discard this card to recharge that armor instead of discarding, burying, or banishing it." makes me believe I can play both. Though, the buckler gun card states that "this counts as playing a weapon instead of an armor."

So, does Instant Armor look at the card category, or does it consider how it is being used? If the Buckler Gun text overrides the card category to be weapon, you wouldn't be able to use Instant Armor.

Thoughts? I could see this being a decent combo early on for spell casters who have armor options. If the Instant Armor can't be applied to Buckler Gun when it is being used as a weapon, it loses any benefit as I intended.

Thanks!


If you use Buckler Gun as a weapon, you have not played an armor card at that time; you have played a weapon card...so no Instant Armor for you.


A similar question would be whether or not Magic Weapon can be played in conjunction with the Buckler Gun to add a 1d4 when the Buckler Gun is being played as a weapon. Curious on both of those combinations and deciding which would be more beneficial.

Thanks again!


Thanks csouth154. That's what I was thinking. That would mean Magic Weapon could benefit Buckler Gun when used as a weapon.

Thanks!!

Sovereign Court

Magic Weapon is great with it. I especially love using it with Lirianne. Play it as a weapon, burying a different card, and you are still allowed to reduce damage with it if you fail.


Never thought to get it to Lirianne! That would be a good setup. Though not sure you can turn around and use it again as an armor, unless you had a second copy of it. Or can you use it twice since it is considered a different step? If so, I may have found a new armor to get to my Lirianne!!

Sovereign Court

The rules only limit using each power once. Has nothing to do with a different check or step. You haven't used an armor, and you haven't used the damage reduction power, you can use it.


You can play it exactly as Andrew K said, because, in the exact example he described, it doesn't leave your hand after the first play. You can't play the same power on one card twice, but you can play two different powers on the same card if the first one didn't cause it to leave your hand AND if doing so wouldn't violate the "one card per type per character per step or check rule", which in this (so far unique) case, it doesn't.

Sovereign Court

And you just can't beat a character having 5 weapons when her card says she can only have 4!


Hmmm... I would have gone the other way.. If you used it as a weapon you can't also use it as an armor on the same combat check... That is how I interpreted:

S&S Rulebook, Page 9 wrote:
When a card has multiple powers, you must choose one of them. A specific card’s power may only be used once per check or step.

I can see that being interpreted as you just can't use the same power again, but you can use another power from the same card. I just read it as "You can only use any power from a specific card once per check" instead of "You can only use each power from a specific card once per check (in the rare instance that something allows you to play the same card multiple times)." Thinking about it, though, if they meant my interpretation, it could have been written "A specific card may only be played once per check or step." and there wouldn't have been any uncertainty. So I am probably wrong :)

I don't think this was an issue in RotR because there were no cards that could change type and allow this.


Also the rules for revealing state:

S&S Rulebook, Page 10 wrote:
Reveal: Show it from your hand then put it back in your hand. You may not reveal the same card for its power more than once per check or step.

But in this case you aren't revealing it. You're burying it (but using another card) and then recharging it. But the spirit of that certainly goes against using the same card more than once for a given check.

Sovereign Court

Yea, and I think the reason they have the first sentence is to make sure people don't think that by playing multiple powers on one card, it doesn't violate the "1 card per type" rule.


Yeah, I'm thinking more and more that my initial feeling is wrong :)

S&S Rulebook, Page 23 wrote:
Powers: Powers are special rules for a boon. In general, if a card lists multiple powers, you can do any of them; however, if you play a card in such a way that it leaves your hand, that action can trigger only 1 power. For example, if a card says you may discard it to add to your die roll or discard it to explore your location, you may discard it to trigger either effect, but not both.

Lirianne is able to get around that by not letting the card leave her hand... Very neat and easy to miss if you're thinking each card can only be used once per check like I was (and like how it effectively worked out in RotR).


Does Buckler Gun say it no longer counts as playing an armor? Or does it just say it counts as playing a weapon?


It says:

Buckler Gun wrote:

For your combat check, bury this card to use your Dexterity or Ranged skill + 1d8 and add the Ranged trait; this counts as playing a weapon instead of an armor.

Recharge this card to reduce Combat damage dealt to you by 2. If you are proficient with light armors, you may play another armor on this check.


Ah, well there we go then. I was worried we'd have a situation like with Loot where it says it counts as another card type with an implied "as well" rather than "instead."

Carry on.

EDIT: Shouldn't it say something about two-handed weapons, since it's a shield?


Orbis Orboros wrote:
EDIT: Shouldn't it say something about two-handed weapons, since it's a shield?

I don't think so. The regular buckler & magic buckler don't mention the 2-handed restriction either.


Alrighty then.


Flipping through the cards, all of the old shields had the Offhand trait, which Bucklers do not have. The two handed restriction is a result of that trait, rather than the shield trait. The Main-Gauche, which is a weapon with the Offhand trait, has the same 2-handed restriction.


nondeskript wrote:
Flipping through the cards, all of the old shields had the Offhand trait, which Bucklers do not have. The two handed restriction is a result of that trait, rather than the shield trait. The Main-Gauche, which is a weapon with the Offhand trait, has the same 2-handed restriction.

I think the Buckler is supposed to be strapped to your arm and not held in your hand. Which is why it's not offhand and stuff.

Grand Lodge

Orbis Orboros wrote:
nondeskript wrote:
Flipping through the cards, all of the old shields had the Offhand trait, which Bucklers do not have. The two handed restriction is a result of that trait, rather than the shield trait. The Main-Gauche, which is a weapon with the Offhand trait, has the same 2-handed restriction.
I think the Buckler is supposed to be strapped to your arm and not held in your hand. Which is why it's not offhand and stuff.

Yes, that is what a buckler is ... it is a sheild that is not held in your hand but merely strapped on your forearm to provide some protection but not as much as a normal shield.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Instant Armor and Buckler Gun All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion