How much does a mithril / darkwood longspear cost?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Many of my characters use longspears but like all hafted weapons, their composite construction plays havoc with the special materials rules.

Darkwood is great for hafts but it costs 10 gp/lb above masterwork price.

Mithril costs 500 gp/lb for weapons.

A longspear weighs 9 lbs and is 8 feet long

really?:
That is a spear's length, right? A longspear should be at least 12 feet long!

It seems ridiculous to use the whole weight for calculating special material costs, but there is no indication of how the weight is distributed between the metal and wood components.

Comparisons:
A quarterstaff weighs 4 lbs and is 5 feet long
A 10 foot pole weighs 8 lbs and is 10 feet long
A dagger is 1 lbs and has a blade 1 foot long (so about 17" total)
A short sword weighs 2 lbs and is about 2 feet long

Houserules can be made based on comparisons, but is there anything concrete as I'm wondering for society play.

Grand Lodge

A weapon that is not primarily composed of metal can not be made mithril. All weapons for the purpose of the game, have one primary component of composition.

Sczarni

There are no rules for crafting a Mithral/Darkwood Longspear. It's purely in the realm of houserules.

In Society play you are out of luck.

Scarab Sages

CRB 155 wrote:

Items not primarily of metal are not meaningfully affected by being partially made of mithral. (A longsword can be a

mithral weapon, while a quarterstaff cannot.)

I read that as the weight is not meaningfully affected as only the head is metal, but it still counts as silver for overcoming damage reduction as the metal bit does the damage.

Scarab Sages

Nefreet wrote:

There are no rules for crafting a Mithral/Darkwood Longspear. It's purely in the realm of houserules.

In Society play you are out of luck.

But my plans ... they'll be ruined and I'll have to scheme another scheme!


Even if you did make a spear out of both mithral and darkwood, you wouldn't get the benefits of both. You would only gain the benefits of a darkwood item.

Quote:
Weapons and armor can be crafted using materials that possess innate special properties. If you make a suit of armor or weapon out of more than one special material, you get the benefit of only the most prevalent material. However, you can build a double weapon with each head made of a different special material.

Sczarni

I discovered this rules gap regarding multiple special materials when I tried to craft a bone Klar in Society. The description of a Klar states it's basically a skull with a blade sticking out of it. I wanted the Klar to be bone, and the blade to be Mithral.

But I found out I could only make the entire item out of either bone, or Mithral. No mixing.

Same problem presents itself with a Darkwood/Mithral Longspear. There's no weight breakdown of the head and the shaft, so there's no way to assign an accurate cost for the special materials.

It can get quite frustrating, but is easy to mitigate in a homegame with your GM.

Grand Lodge

Mithral klars just break immersion for me. Like going to the old west and having American Indians wear plate mail.


LazarX wrote:
Mithral klars just break immersion for me. Like going to the old west and having American Indians wear plate mail.

Why? A klar already has metal blade, so whoever is making them already knows how to mine and smith iron/steel. The description of mithral says it is worked like steel, so anyone who can make the original blade for the klar can make one from mithral should he have a chunk of it.

Scarab Sages

Jeraa wrote:

Even if you did make a spear out of both mithral and darkwood, you wouldn't get the benefits of both. You would only gain the benefits of a darkwood item.

Quote:
Weapons and armor can be crafted using materials that possess innate special properties. If you make a suit of armor or weapon out of more than one special material, you get the benefit of only the most prevalent material. However, you can build a double weapon with each head made of a different special material.

That's an interesting question right there. What is the most prevalent material in a spear? By weight it is the wood, but the whole functionality of a spear revolves around the spearhead, which is metal.

Sczarni

A quote from my Shoanti Warpriest, who fights with the traditional Thunder and Fang:

"We Shoanti are often looked down upon by those that call themselves more 'civilized'. They hold their noses when we drink our kumis, or they tell us our klars would be better made of metal, but the one thing they would not ask us to change are the promises we keep. When a Shoanti gives his word, people across the seas recognize it for its value. The rare individual who breaks his word is swiftly pounded by a hundred earth breakers to show the world that we as a people uphold our word above all else. When I give you my word, you may trust that it is genuine."

Grand Lodge

Well, if you have an Undine boon, you can have an Undine Weaponshaft Longspear, and have the whole thing made out of Mithral.


Horselord wrote:
Jeraa wrote:

Even if you did make a spear out of both mithral and darkwood, you wouldn't get the benefits of both. You would only gain the benefits of a darkwood item.

Quote:
Weapons and armor can be crafted using materials that possess innate special properties. If you make a suit of armor or weapon out of more than one special material, you get the benefit of only the most prevalent material. However, you can build a double weapon with each head made of a different special material.
That's an interesting question right there. What is the most prevalent material in a spear? By weight it is the wood, but the whole functionality of a spear revolves around the spearhead, which is metal.

The "pole" part which is made of wood would count as most prevelant.

In the additional rules chapter there is a distince difference between hafted weapons and metal hafted weapons for purposes of hit points which is how they are constructed.

The book does not however provide and definite examples, so I say "ask your GM", if he will allow the entire spear to be make of mithral. I would say the spear is mostly made of wood however, since I would allow for arrows to be made of a wood(such as darkwood) instead of mithral.

Both the arrow and spear are just pieces of wood with a sharp end.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber
Horselord wrote:
Jeraa wrote:

Even if you did make a spear out of both mithral and darkwood, you wouldn't get the benefits of both. You would only gain the benefits of a darkwood item.

Quote:
Weapons and armor can be crafted using materials that possess innate special properties. If you make a suit of armor or weapon out of more than one special material, you get the benefit of only the most prevalent material. However, you can build a double weapon with each head made of a different special material.
That's an interesting question right there. What is the most prevalent material in a spear? By weight it is the wood, but the whole functionality of a spear revolves around the spearhead, which is metal.

it means the most prevalent special material. there's also a section on hafted weapons i think, which basically says, use the material the head is made out of.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Jeraa wrote:
LazarX wrote:
Mithral klars just break immersion for me. Like going to the old west and having American Indians wear plate mail.
Why? A klar already has metal blade, so whoever is making them already knows how to mine and smith iron/steel. The description of mithral says it is worked like steel, so anyone who can make the original blade for the klar can make one from mithral should he have a chunk of it.

I can't answer that better than Nefreet, so look at his post above.


FAQ wrote:

Adamantine: What's the hardness of a metal weapon made out of adamantine?

The answer depends on whether the weapon is entirely adamantine, or partly adamantine and partly some other material.

Table 7–12 on page 175 of the Core Rulebook lists common weapon hardness and hit points. The table assumes the weapon in question is made of leather, wood, and/or steel, as appropriate. According to Table 7–13, steel has hardness 10, which is why completely-steel weapons on the table have hardness 10.

Hafted weapon normally have a wooden haft rather than a metal haft. Even a steel-headed weapon such as a battleaxe has a wooden haft, so even though its head is made of a material with hardness 10, its weakest part is the haft, which has hardness 5, therefore the weapon is listed on Table 7–12 as having hardness 5 (because it is assumed that you're aiming at the weakest parts when trying to destroy an object).

For a weapon that is entirely made of one material (such as a one-handed blade), if that material isn't the standard material for that weapon, use that material's hardness from Table 7–13 instead of the default hardness on Table 7–12. For example, a wooden longsword has hardness 5, a glass longsword has hardness 1, and an adamantine longsword has hardness 20.

For a weapon that isn't entirely made of the same material (such as a wooden-hafted weapon with a metal head), if that material isn't the standard material for that weapon, use the hardness from Table 7–13 for the weakest material in the weapon instead of the default hardness on Table 7–12. For example, an ice-hafted (hardness 0) steel-headed (hardness 10) battleaxe has hardness 0 overall because it is only as strong as its weakest part. Likewise, an ice-hafted adamantine-headed battleaxe has hardness 0, just like its ice counterpart. ("Use the weakest material" is a relative term, as a battleaxe probably includes a small amount of leather, but its primary materials are wood and steel, so wood is its weakest material.)

Note that this "weak spot" of a hafted weapon doesn't affect the material properties of the weapon's head. A wooden-hafted adamantine-headed battleaxe still counts as adamantine for its attacks, is still of masterwork quality and has a +1 enhancement bonus to attack rolls, even if it is just as easy to sunder as a common steel battleaxe. The GM is also free to rule that damage to the weapon which only affected its head (such as dipping it into a shallow pool of acid) should use the head's hardness instead of the haft's hardness.

The FAQ cites an example where you have a Battleaxe with one material replacing wood in the haft and a different material replacing metal in the head. You can absolutely have a weapon with differing haft/head materials use Darkwood for the haft and Mithral for the head. But you'll pay out the nose for it.

Sczarni

Except, there are no price guidelines for such a creation, so for Society play, you're still out of luck.

Liberty's Edge

Nefreet wrote:
Except, there are no price guidelines for such a creation, so for Society play, you're still out of luck.

Pay the amount needed to make the entire weapon out of dark wood, and the entire weapon out of mithral or adamantine. Done. Luck replenished. Efficient? No.


So the Longspear in question would be base price of weapon + (500*8) + (10 * 8).

Sczarni

While Howie's suggestion would certainly cover the most expensive option available, and thus ensure you're paying for whatever the price could be, it's still not allowed in Society play.

You need something that's in print. No custom items are available. Otherwise you'd have people paying extra for things like Mithral Celestial Armor.

Howie's suggestion is still just a houserule.


It is in print. The FAQ I provided establishes that multi-material items are allowable; they are cited as an example right in the FAQ. It only really applies to Haft/Head weapons, but there you go. As far as cost, that's printed as well. The cost is 500 per lb for mithril and 10 per lb for darkwood. It's not exactly rocket surgery. Now, for specific magic items, that's a whole different story. Celestial Armor is a specific magic item so "material" is, entirely, a non-issue. But for a standard Longspear, not a specific magic item like a Dragon's Bane (+2 Bane Halberd), you just apply both price adjustments.

"I want to make this Longspear (head) out of Mithral"
[500g/lb * 9lb]
"I also want to make this Longspear (haft) out of Darkwood"
[10g/lb * 9lb]

You just apply the separate rules in succession.

Scarab Sages

Kazaan wrote:

It is in print. The FAQ I provided establishes that multi-material items are allowable; they are cited as an example right in the FAQ. It only really applies to Haft/Head weapons, but there you go. As far as cost, that's printed as well. The cost is 500 per lb for mithril and 10 per lb for darkwood. It's not exactly rocket surgery. Now, for specific magic items, that's a whole different story. Celestial Armor is a specific magic item so "material" is, entirely, a non-issue. But for a standard Longspear, not a specific magic item like a Dragon's Bane (+2 Bane Halberd), you just apply both price adjustments.

"I want to make this Longspear (head) out of Mithral"
[500g/lb * 9lb]
"I also want to make this Longspear (haft) out of Darkwood"
[10g/lb * 9lb]

You just apply the separate rules in succession.

Your logic is flawless. Although it does sound like a weaponsmith charges to fashion a mithral longspear and a darkwood longspear, then have their heads swapped, after which he throws the former longspear away.

Sczarni

Kazaan, I'm not debating that items constructed of multiple special materials exist. We don't even need to look to the FAQ. There are many specific examples in both the CRB and UE.

What I'm pointing out is that there is no method for determining their cost.

Howie's method, and it sounds like yours as well, is your own construction. There is nothing in print to show that's how it's done. And, for Society play, it needs to be in print.


Well, just a plain Darkwood Longspear still has an iron/steel head. A Mithral Longspear still has a wooden haft. So even if you're making a plain Mithral Longspear, you're paying for 4500g worth of Mithral just to fashion a spearhead which probably only weighs about 1 lb (would be 2 lb if made of steel) but still the haft of the weapon is plain wood. So you could say the smith is making a Mithral Longspear and a Darkwood Longspear and swapping the heads, but that results in a Mithral/Darkwood Longspear plus a normal Longspear of ordinary wood and steel (which he probably sells on the side for a little extra profit). Business... go figure.

Edit:

Nefreet wrote:

Kazaan, I'm not debating that items constructed of multiple special materials exist. We don't even need to look to the FAQ. There are many specific examples in both the CRB and UE.

What I'm pointing out is that there is no method for determining their cost.

Howie's method, and it sounds like yours as well, is your own construction. There is nothing in print to show that's how it's done. And, for Society play, it needs to be in print.

Are you reading the same rules as I am? The PRD clearly shows that it costs 500 gold/lb over the base cost of the weapon to craft it out of Mithral. It states that it costs 10 gold/lb over the base cost of the weapon to craft it out of Darkwood. There's absolutely no ambiguity here. Your position is like saying, "Well, I get my Con modifier added to my HP per level, and the Toughness feat gives me an average of +1 HP per level, but the rules don't explicitly tell me how I'm supposed to combine the two." Plain common sense just says you apply the two rules in sequence; you add your Con modifier to your dice result and then you add your Toughness bonus. The order doesn't even matter as addition is communicative so you could add Toughness first and then Con and come up with the same result. It doesn't spell this out as if we were idiots because insulting your customer base isn't good business (and also, space is at a premium).

Sczarni

We're reading the same rules. You're just reading into them more than I am, and coming up with your own conclusion.

I'll repeat it again (because I know you've seen this before), Pathfinder is a permissive game. You need rules that say you can do something, not rules that say you cannot.

Rules for pricing Mithral exist. Rules for pricing Darkwood exist. On this we agree.

Where we diverge is the ability to combine those costs into one item.

I simply don't see support in the rules for that.


Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Too bad they don't allow pole arms as double-weapons. One side is the blade, the other a quarterstaff (pole). That would allow you to use it intelligently -- at reach using the blade and close up using the pole as a quarterstaff.

That way you could just use double-weapon rules.


Nefreet wrote:

We're reading the same rules. You're just reading into them more than I am, and coming up with your own conclusion.

I'll repeat it again (because I know you've seen this before), Pathfinder is a permissive game. You need rules that say you can do something, not rules that say you cannot.

Rules for pricing Mithral exist. Rules for pricing Darkwood exist. On this we agree.

Where we diverge is the ability to combine those costs into one item.

I simply don't see support in the rules for that.

Ok, so the rules say you add your Con modifier to your HP dice roll. The rules for Favored Class Bonus say that, if you choose HP as your bonus, you add +1 to your HP roll for that level. But where is the rule that allows you to combine those two bonuses? And, if there is such a rule, are you claiming that it's only because of that rule that you can add the two together; that if that rule were omitted, you'd have to read the rules as either Con modifier or FCB?

Also, riddle me this: There are rules for pricing darkwood. There rules for making a composite bow. But there are no rules that combine these costs into one item. Does that mean you cannot make a darkwood composite bow?


Kazaan wrote:
Nefreet wrote:

We're reading the same rules. You're just reading into them more than I am, and coming up with your own conclusion.

I'll repeat it again (because I know you've seen this before), Pathfinder is a permissive game. You need rules that say you can do something, not rules that say you cannot.

Rules for pricing Mithral exist. Rules for pricing Darkwood exist. On this we agree.

Where we diverge is the ability to combine those costs into one item.

I simply don't see support in the rules for that.

Ok, so the rules say you add your Con modifier to your HP dice roll. The rules for Favored Class Bonus say that, if you choose HP as your bonus, you add +1 to your HP roll for that level. But where is the rule that allows you to combine those two bonuses? And, if there is such a rule, are you claiming that it's only because of that rule that you can add the two together; that if that rule were omitted, you'd have to read the rules as either Con modifier or FCB?

Also, riddle me this: There are rules for pricing darkwood. There rules for making a composite bow. But there are no rules that combine these costs into one item. Does that mean you cannot make a darkwood composite bow?

Well, given that composite bowstaves are made of wood, horn, sinew, laths, and glue, yes, I would say you cannot have a darkwood composite bow, since wood doesn't seem to be the most prevalent material.

The Exchange

Just make the entire spear out of mithral. A hollow mithral shaft with a solid head. Mithral is light enough that it should work out fine. Just make sure your GM is ok with it. I would be.

Sczarni

Kazaan wrote:
Ok, so the rules say you add your Con modifier to your HP dice roll. The rules for Favored Class Bonus say that, if you choose HP as your bonus, you add +1 to your HP roll for that level. But where is the rule that allows you to combine those two bonuses? And, if there is such a rule, are you claiming that it's only because of that rule that you can add the two together; that if that rule were omitted, you'd have to read the rules as either Con modifier or FCB?
I must admit, your comparative analogy escapes me. I don't see the connection. Both bonuses state that they add to your total. In addition, untyped bonuses stack. I fail to see how this relates to items constructed of multiple special materials.
Kazaan wrote:
Also, riddle me this: There are rules for pricing darkwood. There rules for making a composite bow. But there are no rules that combine these costs into one item. Does that mean you cannot make a darkwood composite bow?

Again, poor comparison. Are you arguing you couldn't construct a small- or large-sized Darkwood Composite Longbow? Because I assure you, you can.

If you do a quick search, the question regarding pricing of multiple special material items has been around for years, and remains unanswered.


The prices of both materials, similarly, "stack". Regarding the composite bow, it costs +100 per point of Str Rating. No where does it say you can combine the +100 per point of Str Rating with the +10 per lb cost of Darkwood to make a Darkwood Composite Longbow. However, as you admit, you plainly can make a Darkwood Composite Longbow of whatever Str rating you choose. So why is it so difficult for you to wrap your mind around the concept that the rules give you permission to add +500/lb to the cost of a weapon to make it Mithral and +10/lb to the cost of a weapon to make it Darkwood? There's your permission right there. And there's nothing offering restrictions on those permissions. It just says that you can't benefit from multiple materials; not that you can't use multiple materials. So, while you claim you need explicit permission to use both individual sets of permissions simultaneously, I say that the permission is granted individually with no caveat that they can't be used in sequence. The "game of permissions" approach does have a logical limit and you've quite clearly crossed it by claiming I have permission to use the mithral crafting rules, permission to use the darkwood crafting rules, but I need an explicit permission to use both at the same time. There are many rules that enter play simultaneously without explicit permission to do so, just in the course of playing. This isn't, in any way, form, or shape, me nor anyone else making "custom rules constructions"; it's a matter of simple common sense readings of the rules at hand. Period.

Sczarni

Ah. I understand why we're looking at this differently.

You're trying to apply the logic of stacking untyped bonuses to the cost of crafting items.

That is a fallacy. The two are nothing similar, and have nothing to do with each other. One is stated in the rules; bonuses without a type always stack. The other is not stated in the rules; it is only being inferred by you.

I would also argue that it isn't common sense. Simply paying double and throwing away half an item. I cannot think of anything in the real world that is handled in that way, and even if there were something like it, it would be extremely wasteful.

Common sense would be working with your GM to determine how much weight a spearhead would be and paying for each part separately.

You can do whatever you want in your home games. I've divvied up weights for items in my campaigns before. But for Pathfinder Society, if it isn't in print, you're out of luck.

You really can't argue against that.


Nefreet wrote:

Ah. I understand why we're looking at this differently.

You're trying to apply the logic of stacking untyped bonuses to the cost of crafting items.

That is a fallacy. The two are nothing similar, and have nothing to do with each other. One is stated in the rules; bonuses without a type always stack. The other is not stated in the rules; it is only being inferred by you.

I would also argue that it isn't common sense. Simply paying double and throwing away half an item. I cannot think of anything in the real world that is handled in that way, and even if there were something like it, it would be extremely wasteful.

Common sense would be working with your GM to determine how much weight a spearhead would be and paying for each part separately.

You can do whatever you want in your home games. I've divvied up weights for items in my campaigns before. But for Pathfinder Society, if it isn't in print, you're out of luck.

You really can't argue against that.

No, it's a matter that if you have two separate "additions" to the price of an item, they can both apply. Just as you admitted, you can add the price of Darkwood to a composite longbow and you can add the price of higher Str rating to a composite longbow. It is exactly the same as adding the price of Mithril to a Longspear and the price of Darkwood to a Longspear. No difference whatsoever. It may not make sense to pay double and "throw away half the item" but that is exactly what happens if you just make a Mithril Longspear; you pay the Mithril cost for the whole 9lb weapon even though only the head is being made of the Mithril. So why does it make any less sense to do that process again for the making of the haft? Furthermore, you keep claiming that one needs permission to combine the two rules. That is incorrect; the two rules are enacted separately. You don't need permission to combine crafting costs for two different materials because you have permission to add each cost individually. What the situation would call for is a rule explicitly denying privilege to combine the two rules because we already have the permission. It need not be written explicitly because the two separate processes do not interfere with one another. Otherwise, there would be no need to state that various increases to Crit range don't stack since it was never explicitly stated that they do stack; no explicit permission was ever given. Yet, still, they needed an explicit statement prohibiting it because they would be two separate rules elements being applied individually. I am not looking too deep, you are splitting hairs. This is no argument; this is me being quite obviously correct and you flailing ineffectually.

Liberty's Edge

Nefreet wrote:

Ah. I understand why we're looking at this differently.

You're trying to apply the logic of stacking untyped bonuses to the cost of crafting items.

That is a fallacy. The two are nothing similar, and have nothing to do with each other. One is stated in the rules; bonuses without a type always stack. The other is not stated in the rules; it is only being inferred by you.

I would also argue that it isn't common sense. Simply paying double and throwing away half an item. I cannot think of anything in the real world that is handled in that way, and even if there were something like it, it would be extremely wasteful.

Common sense would be working with your GM to determine how much weight a spearhead would be and paying for each part separately.

You can do whatever you want in your home games. I've divvied up weights for items in my campaigns before. But for Pathfinder Society, if it isn't in print, you're out of luck.

You really can't argue against that.

With all respect, the issue isn't whether it's in print, the issue is how much it costs.

We have multiple aspects of the rules that describe how to determine cost in a formulaic manner. Wands, potions, scrolls, magic weapons: these are all handled formulaicly. The only difference her is the proportion of the cost. It is undefined. By paying the full value, you have covered the cost. To use your language, you can't argue with that.

I tilt ally respect the unique nature of PFS with buttoning down details to the lowest common denominator. The proprosal I provided, by it's very nature, assures that every reasonable objection to what the cost might be is covered.

Any remaining objection has no substance in terms of the game rules, when viewed in terms of whether the cost has been payed. It solely has objection in pedantic issues, such as whether it permissible to pay too much in order to negate discussion of what the cost is for something that is clearly allowed by the rules.

Nefreet, I've played in your games. I generally respect your ideas about the game in general, and PFS in particular. But your logic here is essentially: this is possible; it has a cost; the cost cannot be identified with precision, but has clearly been exceeded; there is still a reason to deny it, regardless whether this is to the benefit of the organized pmay campaign, the player, or the GMs she will interact with.

I understand the Lawful Neutral approach you are espousing. I also think it beyond the scope of what is either useful or helpful to the campaign without benefit, and in addition exaggerates the reality of the campaign in a manner that fuels that negativity with which some view the campaign.

You generally fight the good fight. You have pushed it beyond the bounds of form and purpose in this particular manner. This post is submitted with the utmost respect for you and the vast majority of your posts.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How much does a mithril / darkwood longspear cost? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions