Using the spell Elemental Body


Advice

Scarab Sages

Ok, I've had it for a while, but this is the first opportunity I've had to use elemental body.

1) I am now a small water elemental. I can still use my weapons and spells since an elemental is a humanoid figure and can speak. Correct?

2) This does not give me freedom of movement to use something like a whip without penalties. Correct?

3) Would the vortex ability work with a reach weapon, like a long spear, to strike everyone within 10 feet?


Jorin wrote:
1) I am now a small water elemental. I can still use my weapons and spells since an elemental is a humanoid figure and can speak. Correct?

Ask your GM. Some would say yes, others no. For a home game, I would say yes - they can take a roughly humanoid appearance, and they speak Aquan. However, PFS leadership has said that elemental familiars can't use weapons or wands. I suspect they would rule the same for casters using Elemental Body. Even if you're not asking for PFS, I've heard that several GMs tend to adopt those rulings and restrictions for home games.

Jorin wrote:
2) This does not give me freedom of movement to use something like a whip without penalties. Correct?

Where would you get Freedom of Movement from? Also, why would it help you wield a whip? Just the whole slashing-weapon-underwater thing?

Jorin wrote:
3) Would the vortex ability work with a reach weapon, like a long spear, to strike everyone within 10 feet?

Vortex says it works like Whirlwind but underwater. Whirlwind says you transform yourself into a whirlwind of the given dimensions. The ability doesn't reference your space or reach in any way, just the height of the whirlwind. So no, reach weapons wouldn't do anything for you.

Scarab Sages

shaventalz wrote:

...

Jorin wrote:
2) This does not give me freedom of movement to use something like a whip without penalties. Correct?

Where would you get Freedom of Movement from? Also, why would it help you wield a whip? Just the whole slashing-weapon-underwater thing?

...

Someone thought I could use my whip (my usual weapon) without penalties since I was a water elemental.

shaventalz wrote:

..

Jorin wrote:
3) Would the vortex ability work with a reach weapon, like a long spear, to strike everyone within 10 feet?
Vortex says it works like Whirlwind but underwater. Whirlwind says you transform yourself into a whirlwind of the given dimensions. The ability doesn't reference your space or reach in any way, just the height of the whirlwind. So no, reach weapons wouldn't do anything for you.

DOH! Sorry, for some reason I locked onto the Whirlwind attack feat.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Using the spell Elemental Body All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice