Adhesive blood


Rules Questions

51 to 91 of 91 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Sovereign Court

How would you resolve the questions in the OP if instead of the spell, the sticky thing in question was a mimic?

Then apply the same answers to a wizard with the spell. It's almost the exact same wording as the adhesive ability.


deusvult wrote:

How would you resolve the questions in the OP if instead of the spell, the sticky thing in question was a mimic?

Then apply the same answers to a wizard with the spell. It's almost the exact same wording as the adhesive ability.

It's the same. The Mimic only gets a grapple if IT hits YOU. Since a wizard isn't going to purposely coat himself with his own blood and then punch you to start a grapple, it is unlikely to come up.

Moving further down the track, to the best of my knowledge (haven't checked the FAQ) no ability that works on weapons works on natural attacks unless it very specifically says so. You can't disarm or sunder a claw or a monk's fists because Game Rules and Ew Factor. This continues on to sticky blood trying to glue down your fists or tentacles (damn creepy little gnome summoners).

Sovereign Court

boring7 wrote:


The Mimic only gets a grapple if IT hits YOU.

Not true.

Mimic's Adhesive Ability wrote:


A weapon that strikes an adhesive-coated mimic is stuck fast unless the wielder succeeds on a DC 17 Reflex save. A successful DC 17 Strength check is needed to pry off a stuck weapon.

So, if you would or would not let someone drag a mimic around by the hilt of your sword, then you should or should not let someone drag a stickyblooded spell recipient.


deusvult wrote:

How would you resolve the questions in the OP if instead of the spell, the sticky thing in question was a mimic?

Then apply the same answers to a wizard with the spell. It's almost the exact same wording as the adhesive ability.

The mimic has the common decency to have the grappled condition thrown in there, which at least gives us a starting point on how it works. It's also some kind of magical monster that is supposed to have glue fluids. Glue blood throws one hell of a wrench in to the workings of typical person biology.

As for my various other situations. Yes, having things stuck to you would influence the outcome. If the fighter can lift the monster weighing hundreds of pounds off of the ground, getting a long stick stuck to the monster is a great way to pull that off. Not any differently than using a crane and netting/rope to move a pile of boxes(which the mimic could literally be) around.


deusvult wrote:
boring7 wrote:


The Mimic only gets a grapple if IT hits YOU.

Not true.

Mimic's Adhesive Ability wrote:


A weapon that strikes an adhesive-coated mimic is stuck fast unless the wielder succeeds on a DC 17 Reflex save. A successful DC 17 Strength check is needed to pry off a stuck weapon.
So, if you would or would not let someone drag a mimic around by the hilt of your sword, then you should or should not let someone drag a stickyblooded spell recipient.

I thought that was already obvious, it wouldn't. The only mention of grapple in the Mimic's ability description is that it gets a grapple automatically if it hits something. Not if you hit it.

Paizo Glitterati Robot

Removed a series of derailing posts and personal insults. Guys, let's stick to actually answering the rules question in the original post. If you'd like to discuss the spell in its entirety, you may want to start a new thread for it.


You would not have the grappled condition as the spell does not mention the grappled condition. As was previously stated(though maybe not anymore), mimics have a similar ability and specifically call out grappled as part of their attack. This gives precedence which supports no grapple. You could, however, both now effectively be tied together though. How that jives together is up to house rule I guess.

Exactly what happens if you hold on to your weapon, especially if the weapon is attached to you, and try to run is much less clear.

The combat maneuver drag clearly states that: "The aim of this maneuver is to drag a foe in a straight line behind you without doing any harm." If that is not your aim, then you are, by definition, not attempting to perform a drag maneuver. It would also require you to make an attack in order to attach yourself somehow to your opponent, something you have no need to accomplish. Of further note, the drag combat maneuver is not in the CRB, so may not even be an option on the table.

Basically this spell leaves you in doozy of a crap rules situation. The easiest and quickest solution is to see what your DM has to say on the situation.

51 to 91 of 91 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Adhesive blood All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.