
Gilborn |
Hi there,
ich have a small problem an i hope someone can help me.
First, my english ist not so good an i hope you understand me.
If there is a large creature with a reach of 10 feet, can the creature attack diagonal 2 squares or only 1 square.
I find here some pictures (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat/space-reach-threatened-area-t emplates) but nothing in the rulebook and so, the master said. The creature cant reach in the diagonal field.
He said the reach is like the fireball wihr 10 feet radius.
But i think, i can attack in the diagonal field.
Can anyone show me the rule where i can find something about my problem.
Thanks

![]() |

Greetings!
The rules you seek are in the Core Rulebook. Pathfinder measures distance in squares, where one square equals 5 feet. However, when counting diagonally, every other diagonal (starting with the second) equals 10 feet.
This means that a creature standing two diagonals from you is actually standing 15 from you. If you only have 10 feet of reach, you'd need to move closer.
Chalk it up to one of the problems of using squares to define board space, but since all movement in Pathfinder is built around this rule, it's not often that big of an issue.

![]() |

Furthermore, it has been clarified elsewhere that if someone is approaching you from this diagonal route, and you have 10 feet of reach, their movement will still provoke an Attack of Opportunity from you, because even though there is no square that represents 10 feet, they're still crossing that imaginary line at some point, and glitches in the grid system shouldn't prevent you from making Attacks of Opportunity.
Hope that helps!

![]() |

Let my try and translate what Nefreet said in my best German. I hope it helps...
Die Regeln, die Sie suchen sind geschrieben
in der Grundregelwerk. Pathfinder misst Abstand auf den Plätzen, wo ein Quadrat ist gleich an 5 Feet. Wenn jedoch diagonal Zählen jedes andere Diagonale (ab dem zweiten) gleich 10 Feet.
Wann ein Kreatur zwei Diagonalen von Ihnen steht, ist es eigentlich 15 Feet von Ihnen. Wenn Sie nur 10 Feet Reichweite hast, müssen Sie näher zu kommen.
Es ist eine der Probleme von Quadrate, um Leiterplattenfläche zu definieren, aber da jede Bewegung in Pathfinder wird um diese Herrschaft erbaut, ist es nicht oft, dass groß ein Problem.
Darüber hinaus hat es sich an anderer Stelle klargestellt, dass, wenn jemand sich nähert Sie von dieser diagonalen Weg, und du 10 Feet Reichweite haben, wird ihre Bewegung noch provozieren eine Angriff der Gelegenheit (attack of oppurtunity) von Ihnen, denn auch wenn es keinen Platz, der 10 Feet stellt, sie sind immer noch, dass die Überquerung imaginäre Linie an einem gewissen Punkt, und Störungen in der Grid-System sollte nicht verhindern, dass Sie Gelegenheitsangriffe.

Gilborn |
[http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat/space-reach-threatened-area-templates]
OK, if i understand everything all right the pictures at this site is wrong. If you skroll down then you can see a picture from a "Lager(Tall)" creature. Space 2 squares - reach 2 squares.
This picture looks that the Large Creature can attack in the diagonal field 2 squares away.
The same rule like in DnD3.5 in the DMG. The same picture.
@Woran: thanks for translate

Balacertar |

Reach is explained in p141 with extra info at p195 Large, Huge, Gargantuan and Colossal Creatures: In 3.5 here is stated reach is an exception to the diagonal 2 squares = 15' being instead equal to 10' for reach. In Pathfinder this has been removed and thus it is not clear (I guess because it was a clarification not in the OGL).
I continue to apply this rule exception to reach, as otherwise there would be a safe corridor to access the threatened area, and you would not be able to attack in your diagonal, neither in your adjacent square (reach rules) or your next diagonal square (15' movement rule), which is an odd result of using squares.
Therefore, there is no Paizo rule respect to this (at least in the core) and you should either apply the movement rules, the 3.5 exception or a houserule.

wraithstrike |

Reach weapons don't have the clause that 3.5 did however if the person is moving from 15 feet to 5 feet they still have to cross that 10 foot barrier to movement should still provoke.
This is supported by the rules because the rules reference distance not squares when determining how provoking should work for movement.
A creature with greater than normal natural reach usually gets an attack of opportunity against you if you approach it, because you must enter and move within the range of its reach before you can attack it.
Also those templates on you put a link to all account for diagonol squares so by using them a large creature with reach would not threaten a diagonol square.
Unless you are in PFS it is easier to go with the 3.5 ruling which most GM's seem to use. That allows for diagonal squares to count as threatened.

![]() |

If there is something that many people agree is incorrect on d20pfsrd.com, just let us know so we can quickly correct it!
Yes, the templates that Gilborn linked just above your post are in error. They show creatures threatening an extra 5' on the diagonal, which is not how reach works in Pathfinder.

wraithstrike |

d20pfsrd.com wrote:If there is something that many people agree is incorrect on d20pfsrd.com, just let us know so we can quickly correct it!Yes, the templates that Gilborn linked just above your post are in error. They show creatures threatening an extra 5' on the diagonal, which is not how reach works in Pathfinder.
Which template?
I saw
-xx-
xxxx
xxxx
-xx-
If it was
xxxx
xxxx
xxxx
xxxx
with the X's being the threatened areas then diagonals would be threatened.
edit:I see the ones at the bottom(below the "Natural Attacks Damage by Size" chart) now. They should be similar to how the ones for spells are. Yeah those need to be fixed.

![]() |

Gilhorn:
Wenn eine Kreatur groß ist, werden die Regeln, wie beschrieben. Es kann Ihnen in der Diagonale Platz nicht angreifen, aber es tut sich einen Angriff der Gelegenheit (attack of opportunity), wenn Sie die Diagonale Platz geben.
Wenn die Regeln sind über ein Medium Kreatur, mit einer Reichweite Waffe, die Regeln sind weniger klar. Die meisten Menschen beherrschen es wie bei der Rechtschreibvorlage : Sie das Quadrat diagonal nicht erreichen. Aber die Regel ist offen für Interpretation.