Yet another bleed question...


Rules Questions


So, one of our party members has been... Arguing with our GM about bleed. I'm the only one in the group with an account, so I was nominated to ask the questions.

1. What bleeds stack and what bleeds don't stack? I've looked a lot of them over, but am not having the best time. Bleeding Critical says'the effects of this feat stack', which I assume means with itself and other bleeds. The Bleeding Attack Rogue Talent states it doesn't stack with itself. It doesn't say whether it stacks with others.

2. Say that you are a 13th level fighter with the Bleeding Critical feat. You use a +2 keen scimitar, so you have a good crit chance. You go toe-to-toe with a higher level fighter and manage to force him to flee. He makes it to his monk buddy who has ranks in heal. Does the monk have to roll a heal check for each seperate bleeding wound? Because say instead of two it's 7 different bleeding wounds. If you have to roll 7 heal checks(minimum, if he's lucky), that's still a lot of bleed damage coming in.


Bleed damage does not stack. One check stops bleeding.


I'm assuming we're talking hp damage bleeds only. Otherwise it gets more complicated...

from the PRD:
Bleed effects do not stack with each other unless they deal different kinds of damage. When two or more bleed effects deal the same kind of damage, take the worse effect. In this case, ability drain is worse than ability damage.


Then what's up with the wording on Bleeding Critical?


It is a case of a specific rule trumping a general rule; Bleeding Critical can stack with itself, but it still won't stack with other sources of Bleed that deal HP damage.

Also, as far as I know, Bleeding Critical is the only source of Bleed that is self-stackable.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

1 person marked this as a favorite.
TheBulletKnight wrote:
I'm the only one in the group with an account, so I was nominated to ask the questions.

The high cost of accounts probably causes a lot of gaming groups to pool their resources and get just one.


Bleeding Critical is the only ability that stacks to my knowledge (and unless otherwise specified). Bleed effects are always "only one, best applies". Bleeding Critical also only stacks with itself, not other bleed effects.

A successful heal check or any magical healing will stop all bleed damage.


Keep in mind that, while bleeding damage doesn't stack, you may still have multiple sources of bleed damage. Say, for example, you get hit with a 1d4 bleed, a 1d6 bleed, and a 1d8 bleed. Usually, we'd simplify this and say you just have a 1d8 bleed. However, this is incorrect in the same manner as multiplying critical based on a single roll rather than rolling damage twice (ie. 1d8 crit by rolling 1d8 and multiplying the result rather than rolling 2d8). You're supposed to roll 1d4, 1d6, and 1d8 and take the highest value among them. You could very well roll a 4 on the 1d4 and a 2 on the other two dice.


Kazaan wrote:
Keep in mind that, while bleeding damage doesn't stack, you may still have multiple sources of bleed damage. Say, for example, you get hit with a 1d4 bleed, a 1d6 bleed, and a 1d8 bleed. Usually, we'd simplify this and say you just have a 1d8 bleed. However, this is incorrect in the same manner as multiplying critical based on a single roll rather than rolling damage twice (ie. 1d8 crit by rolling 1d8 and multiplying the result rather than rolling 2d8). You're supposed to roll 1d4, 1d6, and 1d8 and take the highest value among them. You could very well roll a 4 on the 1d4 and a 2 on the other two dice.

This is technically accurate, and it's true that very few people do it this way.


Kazaan wrote:
Keep in mind that, while bleeding damage doesn't stack, you may still have multiple sources of bleed damage. Say, for example, you get hit with a 1d4 bleed, a 1d6 bleed, and a 1d8 bleed. Usually, we'd simplify this and say you just have a 1d8 bleed. However, this is incorrect in the same manner as multiplying critical based on a single roll rather than rolling damage twice (ie. 1d8 crit by rolling 1d8 and multiplying the result rather than rolling 2d8). You're supposed to roll 1d4, 1d6, and 1d8 and take the highest value among them. You could very well roll a 4 on the 1d4 and a 2 on the other two dice.

Yes, this is all very true. And RAW you would roll it all every turn (but of course only use the highest).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Yet another bleed question... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions